OS X not remembering file type associations

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Jethryn Freyman, Jun 4, 2009.

  1. Jethryn Freyman macrumors 68020

    Jethryn Freyman

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #1
    OS X 10.5.6. As long as I've had 10.5, OS X has constantly failed to open files with the correct program. The worst offender is iTunes, which seems to keep setting itself to be the default application for .m4v and audio files. Archive Utility also keeps going back to being the default for opening .zip archives and .tar.gz files. I think it's getting reset on reboot.

    I've gone got get info and clicked the Change All button, and tried the Default Apps preference pane, but it doesn't work. I've repaired permissions and reset PRAM.
     
  2. angelwatt Moderator emeritus

    angelwatt

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #2
    If you have FileVault turned on then the issue is likely cause by a Leopard bug that doesn't properly read Launch Services. Ran into this myself. I have an Automator app that runs at login now to fix the problem. It's weird Apple hasn't fixed this yet as it's been known since 10.5.2.
     
  3. Jethryn Freyman thread starter macrumors 68020

    Jethryn Freyman

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #3
    Yep, it only happens in my filevault account.

    Thank you. ;)
     
  4. Jethryn Freyman thread starter macrumors 68020

    Jethryn Freyman

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #4
    Seems that the little workaround isn't working. I've got 10.5.7 now.

    I guess I'll just wait for Snow Leopard.
     
  5. angelwatt Moderator emeritus

    angelwatt

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #5
    I've also got 10.5.7. and it continues to work for me. Remember the command has to be run at every login, not a one time thing.
     
  6. Jethryn Freyman thread starter macrumors 68020

    Jethryn Freyman

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #6
    I've got it launching at login, and I've tried running it manually. I'll mess around with it a bit more and see if I can work out something.
     

Share This Page