OS X on VMware Fusion

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Yizi, Sep 4, 2008.

  1. Yizi macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    I got VMware fusion and there isn't any option to install OS X in it! Am in missing something?
     
  2. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #2
    That's because you cannot run OS X in a virtual machine.

    EDIT: Except possibly OS X Server, which I had heard rumors a while back could be virtualized, not sure.
     
  3. Corrado33 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
  4. Yizi thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    Thats not good then i got it because i wanted to test stuff on OS X and install the server version and see what it's like.
     
  5. KingYaba macrumors 68040

    KingYaba

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Location:
    Up the irons
    #5
    That just means he donated money to MacRumors. There are ways to run OS X with virtualization software. I can guarantee you a simple Google search will yield results.
     
  6. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #6
    ^^^ True, because I have been known to be wrong from time to time.

    You can run OS X Server ...

    Link
     
  7. K3mp macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Location:
    S.E. Louisiana
    #7
    I emulate panther on my pc with pearpc. Im sure vmware could do a better job.
     

Share This Page