OS X Question, Is there a way to dual boot Leopard?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by macsrules, Oct 10, 2008.

  1. macsrules macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    #1
    1. I am looking for answers not opinions why I should do this, or what is the purpose, or for that mater your opinion. Just looking for the answer to this question.


    Here is what I want to be able to do.

    I have three hard drives in my mac pro, I want to be able to install OS X on all three of them, that is not a problem, here is the trick.


    I want to be able to switch between each hard drive operating system without re-booting my computer and changing the start-up drive.


    Is there any application or mod that I can do on my computer to have all three hard drive operating systems load at the initial boot of the computer and only the one I select be active?


    So that I can switch between each hard drive operating system without having to reboot my computer and setting it in the start-up system?
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #2
    You're going to need to reboot.

    The closest solution I can think of is virtual OS X Server in VMWare/Parallels.
     
  3. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #3
    The tagline to the blockbuster movie, Jobs! :D
     
  4. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #4
    The only (legal) way that I know of to do this is to buy and install the server version of OS X, then use Parallels or VM Ware to switch between OSs.

    Edit: too late.
     
  5. ChrisA macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, California
    #5
    Bring up a terminal window and read the man page for the "chroot" command,

    You don't say why you are looking to do this so I don't know if this will help. chroot will change the startup disk then run a command you specify. But the root directory is (of course) only changed for the chroot command itself of all child process.

    The typical use of chroot is to run a server process in a "jail". That is a place where there is no access to large parts of the file system

    I think what you rally may want is a virtual machine setup.
     
  6. kkat69 macrumors 68020

    kkat69

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, Ga
    #6
    From my understanding the answer is no.

    Not without the help of (and I understand what your asking and I've seen situations where it would be used) virtual software as mentioned above. Meaning there will still be a "HOST" and a "GUEST" so it's not essentially what your wanting to do but would get the job done.

    One application I can see is multiboxing WoW. 3 instances of OS X on the same machine, but the same can be done with better performance with just opening 3 instances of WoW but I was just giving a quick dirty example.

    So I'm going with No as even in the Windows/Linux world I've never seen it happen without the help of a host/guest ie., virtual software solution.
     
  7. pit29 macrumors 6502a

    pit29

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Location:
    The Golden State
    #7
    Just of interest: why would you want to do that?
     
  8. DaveTheGrey macrumors 6502a

    DaveTheGrey

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2003
    #8
    I think he/she don't want to tell us
     

Share This Page