OS x + RAMDRIVE but ...

Discussion in 'macOS' started by tlacenka, Feb 26, 2012.

  1. tlacenka macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    #1
    hello there..i have upgraded my MacBook Pro 13 late 2010 with SSD... i got just one question..is there any solution to make RAMDRIVE, but not as block device, but just using FS ...? something like TMPFS in linux... ? thx for answer
     
  2. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #2
    There's a number of ways to create ram drives, but my recommendation is let OSX manage the memory. Its memory management is best if you let it manage the resource without restricting its access to it.

    That is, by using a ram drive you may invaribly cause it to use more swap space because there's less ram available.

    Here's one link I was able to find easily using google if you wished to continue on this.
    http://www.xappsoftware.com/wordpress/2011/09/27/how-to-create-a-ramdisk-on-mac-os-x-snow-leopard/
     
  3. tlacenka thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    #3
    Yes, i know, but as i understand, this make the block device - that means i say to system you have to use 2Gb of ram and the system takes it and use it. But there is no way to make it dynamic i mean hey system you need 3 gb, you can take it but actually you need just 20 Mb so why do you take 2gb.. Or this is with the hdid possible?
     

Share This Page