OS X Restore Question

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by agentelrond, Nov 4, 2013.

  1. agentelrond macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2013
    #1
    Hi,
    I recently did a restore on my MBP (OS 10.7.3) by holding down CMD+R and selecting the option that SHOULD have installed a clean version of the OS. However, after the process finished, what I ended up with was a state that I had saved in Time Machine. The weird part was, my Time Machine backup drive wasn't even connected when I did the restore. While my laptop is restored to (more or less) a state that's all right, why did this happen? Why was it restored to a save point and not the clean installation that should have happened? How can I restore to the base installation that has none of my apps installed?

    Thanks,
    AE
     
  2. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #2
    Because you did not erase the disk first. If you just reinstall like you did it does not erase apps or data.

    Do a command-r boot again and start Disk Utility then erase Macintosh HD. Quit Disk Util then click install OS and that will give you a clean install with nothing but the OS on there.
     
  3. agentelrond thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2013

Share This Page