OS X update help!!

trelos7

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 18, 2014
3
0
After installing the latest update for OSX on my iMac , i can't launch my think or swim trading platform. I am receiving this message: "error while updating JRE, please try again"

Anybody know how I can fix this?

thanks for any help !!
 

plaine300

macrumors newbie
Jun 29, 2007
23
0
Charleston, SC
Me too.

Same issue for me. However, I have to wonder if this isn't related to the Think or Swim application update that they're pushing out at some point today. I haven't upgraded my OS since a week or three ago and have been using ToS reliably up until today. I'm at 10.9.1... which is where it has been since that was released. So I tend to think this is more on TD's end. I suggest you email their support as I have. Waiting to hear back. Or for it to just start working if its on their end after the new ToS update is in place. I forget what time it said that was to happen today.
 

DeltaMac

macrumors G3
Jul 30, 2003
9,537
2,304
Delaware
there's a new update to thinkorswim - do you have it?
On January 18, 2014 we released thinkorswim version 1854.
https://www.thinkorswim.com/tos/displayPage.tos?webpage=clientApplication&displayFormat=hide

But, your error message may be more relevant, and leaves a couple of questions. It's about Java JRE, which may not be updating automatically (for good reasons, Java is more often disabled on Mac OS X.)
But, your software probably needs it to be working :D
You can update your own Java version manually from here: http://www.java.com/en/download/index.jsp

But, your thinkorswim software may not be updated to support the latest version (hope it does), and you would need to get direct support from the thinkorswim folks to help you get that working again.
 

jcrichto

macrumors newbie
Jan 18, 2014
1
0
Me Three

I'm running into the same issue/error. I sure hope they tested this update on mavericks. I know they bragged about pushing out a larger update than normal this weekend in their weekly email. Never had a problem until now.
 

plaine300

macrumors newbie
Jun 29, 2007
23
0
Charleston, SC
Java

I just installed the latest Java 7, build 51 and still no luck. So I'll await TD's response in hopes this is an easy fix. This error comes up during the process of upgrading the new release of Think or Swim (1854).
 

servant119b

macrumors newbie
Apr 15, 2013
9
0
Me Four

I'm running into the same problem too. I'll let you guys know if I hear about a solution. I am not using Mavericks. I'm running Lion 10.7.5.

I also have a Macbook Pro and ThinkOrSwim is doing the same thing on it. errror while updating JRE. It's been running fine before today on both computers.
 
Last edited:

trelos7

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 18, 2014
3
0
Thanks for all the replies!

After contacting Ameritrade this is the response that I received:

thinkorswim is having issues today. They began an update this morning and then encountered some problems. That is the reason you are receiving an error message.
thinkorswim will be available after 3:00 am Eastern time tomorrow, Sunday January 19.

Lets hope this issue will be resolved..........
 

ownamac

macrumors regular
Jun 24, 2010
111
2
Same issue for me today running Mountain Lion 10.8.5. Knowing others see the same error plus seeing your update from TDA makes me feel a little more confident the issue is with TDA and not my system.

Thanks for your post and the status update. Will be re-trying shortly after 3 AM Eastern.
 

STC1709

macrumors 6502
May 27, 2009
409
60
I have Lion 10.7.5 and just ran into this exact same issue.

I updated to Java 7 51 and still happened to I got rid of 7 and downgraded, still same issue.

I'll bookmark this thread and if I can find something out come Tuesday I'll post up unless someone beats me to it haha

But good to know its not my computer. I think it has something to do with the update they rolled out, has to be a bug in their software.
 

deafcone

macrumors newbie
Jan 19, 2014
1
0
having same issue. got this reply from TDA:

Thank you for contacting TD Ameritrade. thinkorswim is having issues with the upgrade. They began an update Saturday morning and then encountered some problems. That is the reason you are receiving an error message.

I apologize for any inconvenience this has caused you. A patch implemented at 2:00 am Central today did not repair the problem. The thinkorswim programers continue to work on the issue. There is no estimated time of repair at this time.

I am sorry that you are unable to access your thinkorswim account. Please reply to this email if you have any questions.

We appreciate your business.


Mary Alexander
Client Services, TD Ameritrade
Division of TD Ameritrade, Inc.
 

STEALTH714

macrumors member
Jun 9, 2010
31
1
TD Ameritrade E-Mail

Pretty funny e-mail just received. Still get the JRE error though!

"While we are sure that you are all tired of hearing about the recent “cold spell” that “mildly inconvenienced” a “small subset” of the populace, we have something of a confession to make. If you all could keep this between us, it would be appreciated. You see, that whole little polar vortex shift thing was on us. Our bad.



To give you some background, we are constantly striving to improve the performance of the software for all of our users, and one good way to maintain good performance is to ensure that the platform’s servers are kept cool at all times. So in an effort to keep our data centers nice and frosty without breaking the bank with our electric bill, we turned our handy-dandy development team loose on creating a machine that could create a small but perpetual cold front in our ventilation systems. Unfortunately, there was an “unintended feature” introduced by a mistranslation of “El Niño” which introduced a slight decay factor to the thermal oscillator’s automated dampener. Happens to the best of us, right? To make a long story short, the weather pattern got a bit larger than expected and escaped the building before it could be turned off, transforming approximately half of the country into an ice cube.

On the upside, being snowed in for a week allowed us to put the finishing touches on another thinkorswim release. Next time we’ll just call the HVAC guy. Seriously though, don’t tell anyone about this."
 

rmejia

macrumors newbie
Aug 7, 2010
1
0
The program file from the old thinkorswim website (posted above) worked for me. The program file from the TD Ameritrade website did not work for me in windows or mac. I'm running Mavericks.
 

illutionz

macrumors 65816
Oct 2, 2007
1,325
23
Rhode Island
Figured I'd post this for anyone who's trading Futures or Forex and needs the update tonight.

Hello,

Thank you for the email. Thinkorswim has been upgraded to Java 7 and will need to be reinstalled if it does not update properly.

To reinstall thinkorswim on your Mac please follow the instructions below:

  1. Right click on the thinkorswim icon on your desktop and click on Show Original. (if you do not have an icon for thinkorswim then open Finder, click on Applications and then double click on the thinkorswim or thinkTDA folder)
  2. Locate any files that start with "workspace", and the file folder titled “Backup”
  3. Move these items to your desktop
  4. Run the uninstaller and then delete the thinkorswim folder
  5. Go to https://mediaserver.thinkorswim.com/installer/install.html
  6. Click on Install thinkDesktop
  7. Select RUN (or save and open after saving) and follow the prompts to reinstall the software.
  8. Once thinkorswim has been reinstalled then place the files you put on your desktop (workspace files and back up folder) back into the thinkorswim file folder

Should you have additional questions, please contact us again.

Thank you for your time,
North VanHooser
Client Liaison
866 839 1100 general
 

hjiang

macrumors newbie
Jan 19, 2014
1
0
I looked at the update log and found the following error message,

Jan 18, 2014 10:52:08 AM jreupdater INFO: [main] FileReplacer: Update installation files.
Jan 18, 2014 10:52:09 AM jreupdater WARNING: FileReplacer: Error while updating installation files: /Applications/thinkTDA/thinkorswim Uninstaller.app/Contents/MacOS/JavaApplicationStub.new (No such file or directory). java.io.FileNotFoundException: /Applications/thinkTDA/thinkorswim Uninstaller.app/Contents/MacOS/JavaApplicationStub.new (No such file or directory)
at java.io.FileOutputStream.open(Native Method)
at java.io.FileOutputStream.<init>(FileOutputStream.java:221)
at java.io.FileOutputStream.<init>(FileOutputStream.java:171)
at com.devexperts.jnlp.utils.IOUtils.copyStreamToFile(IOUtils.java:339)
at com.devexperts.jnlp.platform.impl.mac.MacPlatform.updateInstall4JFiles(MacPlatform.java:204)
at com.devexperts.jreupdater.FileReplacer.<init>(FileReplacer.java:128)
at com.devexperts.jreupdater.FileReplacer.main(FileReplacer.java:155)

Jan 18, 2014 10:55:35 AM jreupdater INFO: [main] FileReplacer: Unzip jre file
As you can see, the update program couldn't find a specified file/directory.

I did run the following command in terminal and it fixed the issue.

cp -r /Applications/thinkTDA/thinkorswim\ from\ TD\ AMERITRADE\ Uninstaller.app /Applications/thinkTDA/thinkorswim\ Uninstaller.app
The updated program runs fine now for me.
 

wwjdjoe

macrumors member
Apr 30, 2008
44
8
The updated program runs fine now for me.
Hmmm, for me, that got rid of the error message, but when running TOS, nothing appears. The log says it gets to launching the installation updater thread before it stops.

I guess I can try the old Windows reboot and reinstall. :roll eyes:

Re-installing from the TDA website and then updating seems to have worked.
 
Last edited:

VicAustin

macrumors newbie
Sep 25, 2013
1
0
hjiang's solution worked here too

Thanks hjiang. That got it.

I'm on 10.7.5 and did the Apple update to Java, but still had the issue.

I've lost my configuration, but it looks like they changed a lot of the look and feel, so that's a small issue. I might also try restoring a recent version backup. Then again, I might take it as an opportunity to clean up my screen layouts and improve my focus.

Thanks again.
 

yustas

macrumors regular
Dec 11, 2009
209
0
Can someone please check this: On the startup screen, click on "Configure..." and look at the "Server Address." Does it have "demo" in it? It seems that it should not be pointing to a demo account.
 

katiekiele

macrumors newbie
Jan 16, 2014
5
0
Help for a Mac user

I'm on 10.9.1 and don't understand some of this computer language about commands etc. IS that for an apple user or windows?

I think I understood from someone is I reinstall the think or swim application, that might do it. IS that right? My java seems up to date with Version 7 update 51. Anyone have thoughts? Thanks so much.
 

servant119b

macrumors newbie
Apr 15, 2013
9
0
Can someone tell me...

If I do what hjiang said, will I be able to still have my saved layout? What I mean is how I have a big window with 3 charts and each chart has different time periods and various studies I spent a lot of time setting up. Of do I have to start from scratch? If hijang's idea doesn't let me keep my old layouts, is there a way I can somehow keep them or get them up and running on the new install???

Thanks