OS X won't boot after new install

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by Yizi, May 26, 2009.

  1. Yizi macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    OK so i installed the leapord on my girlfriends macbook using a external hard drive, everything went fine but after the installation, (which it should restart and come up with the apple welcome screen) it stops at the apple logo, i tried doing the installation again and its the same, any ideas guys?

    Thanks,
    Yizi
     
  2. MrM macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Location:
    California
    #2
    Did you install the software with a good, working copy of Leopard? Or a copy off of the internet?
     
  3. Yizi thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    No its a working one, and its been riped from my retail DVD, also used the DVD to check and did the same, so what i did i used the disk utility inside the DVD to erase and re partition the HD to install everything, again everything went fine but now beside having the apple logo its keep restarting ...
     
  4. MrM macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Location:
    California
    #4
    Was there anything wrong with the computer before you did this? And when you installed the system, did you do an Archive and Install, or a Clean Install?
     
  5. Yizi thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    Nothing wrong with the system and i did a clean install, i had all her data backup on my iMac
     
  6. MrM macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Location:
    California
    #6
    That's strange. I would try doing this and if you have no luck, I'd boot from the copy of Leopard again and run Disk Utility to run the Repair Disk option under the First Aid tab.
     
  7. yippy macrumors 68020

    yippy

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #7
    What kind of Mac and what partition scheme did you use?

    Intel Macs must be formatted in GUID and PPC Macs must be formatted using Apple Partition Scheme. If they are wrong it won't boot.
     
  8. Yizi thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Location:
    UK
  9. Yizi thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Location:
    UK
  10. yippy macrumors 68020

    yippy

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #10
    Mac OS Extended (journaled) is the format, not the partition scheme. Disk Utility should report the partition scheme on the bottom when you have the highest level of the drive selected.

    To change it you will have to reformat using the Partitions Tab in Disk Utility and choosing Options/Advanced Options to select partitioning type.
     
  11. Yizi thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #11
    Yes thats in GUID, im thinking putting the hard drive in a external bay and connect it to my mac and try to install it like that and put it back into the macbook when its done ..
     
  12. Thiol macrumors 6502a

    Thiol

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    #12
    CHeck if it's the computer or the new install. If you put the hard drive in an external, can you boot from it using another computer?
     
  13. Yizi thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #13
    i placed the hard drive in the external bay and as it was empty it came up as normal usb external hard drive on my imac, but the problem is i tried to install osx on the external drive while connected to mu imac, everything went fine same as macbook but it froze in the apple logo with the loading animation keep going ....
     
  14. Yizi thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #14
    Im gonna give it one more try intalling it off external hd if it didnt work i take it apple
     
  15. Yizi thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #15
    OK at the end i found out it was a faulty hard drive!
     
  16. andalusia macrumors 68030

    andalusia

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #16
    Glad you reached a conclusion.
     
  17. Yizi thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #17
    OK so we took it the apple store and they said it either the logic board or the RAM but i was all about the hard drive and stuff, so they said everything will be free to fix it, they took it away and we got a call today saying its ready and guess what was the problem, i was right the hard drive, so if anyone has this problem there is a very high % is the HD, Thanks for the help everyone.
     

Share This Page