OS X won't eject drive (The disk "X" is in use and could not be ejected) Help!

Discussion in 'macOS' started by glitch44, Jun 5, 2007.

1. glitch44 macrumors 65816

okay, so i'm new to OS X...

The external drive i have plugged in keeps seeking repeatedly.
    I checked: Spotlight isn't indexing it.
    OS X won't eject the drive-- I getL "The disk "X" is in use and could not be ejected".

I did this in terminal to see what files are getting accessed:

Code:
    lsof /dev/disk1s3

COMMAND  PID   USER   FD   TYPE DEVICE SIZE/OFF   NODE NAME
    Finder  1690 imac   13r   DIR   14,5      680  71703 /Volumes/OS X Storage/.Trashes/501

Finder  1690 imac   17r   REG   14,5   301444 158658 /Volumes/OS X Storage/STORAGE (D)/_incoming/12tr102.jpg

waited five minutes, ran it again. same 2 files.
    what gives?

how to i get Finder to leave the files alone / eject the disk?

2. iMeowbot macrumors G3

iMeowbot

First, if you have any Finder windows still open that are displaying folders inside that drive (including the trash), close those windows. If ejecting still fails, ctrl-option-click the Finder's dock icon and pick Relaunch. That should release the open files that are preventing the eject in this case.

If you use fast use switching, make sure that no other sessions are looking at the disk.

3. glitch44 thread starter macrumors 65816

No Finder windows open.
    Ejecting still failed.
    Tried to relaunch Finder-- it opened an applications window and my mouse beachballs whenever i mouse-over it, yet i can still use firefox and post this... ?
    external drive still seeking... seeking... seeking...

thanks for your help...

4. nichos macrumors 6502

nichos

There's the emergency eject. Shutdown the computer, turn it on and press and hold the (left) mouse button. The disk should force eject.

5. glitch44 thread starter macrumors 65816

I had to do the emergency eject. Anyone know why Finder would get stuck on a file like that? It keep seeking it over and over and over.