OS X Yosemite DP2 not installing :(

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by jamesjingyi, Jun 17, 2014.

  1. jamesjingyi macrumors 6502a

    jamesjingyi

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    Hey, so I installed DP1 when it first came out and am trying to update to DP2. The install has downloaded fully and asked to restart so I clicked yes. However it has stuck here and not gone any further. I have tried quitting and clicking 'Update' again and again but it isn't doing anything. I also have restarted, reset the SMC and PRAM (just because its easy :p) but it hasn't changed. Anyone else having this issue?

    Oh and where it shows all the recently installed updates, there are many, many DP2s that say they have installed but haven't.. (see attachment)

    Please help!! :D
     

    Attached Files:

  2. tywebb13 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    #2
    I assume you are a developer and have access to apple's developer forums.

    There is a direct link in those forums from which you can download the DP2 delta update in a browser instead of the mac app store.

    Other developers are having similar problems and this direct link solves the problem.

    We can't post the link here on macrumors though.
     
  3. Prabas macrumors 6502a

    Prabas

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Location:
    Europe
  4. Julien macrumors G4

    Julien

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #4
    Is it available in the App Store to people who illegally download???:confused:
     
  5. hacra macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    #5
    No, if you illegally downloaded it, it won't auto update and will not be displayed in App Store.
     
  6. Aagaard2703 macrumors member

    Aagaard2703

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Location:
    Denmark
    #6
    Facebook chat scrolling bug fixed

    The Facebook chat scrolling bug is now fixed! Fantastic! :D
     
  7. jeanre macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    #7

    What a stupid question, you should know better!
     
  8. jamesjingyi thread starter macrumors 6502a

    jamesjingyi

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    Ok, so it will install like the DP1 and not remove all my content, settings, etc?
     
  9. Julien macrumors G4

    Julien

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #9
    You do see I was quoting tywebb13 who asked the question while looking at jamesjingyi screenshot?:eek:
     
  10. dmccloud macrumors 6502a

    dmccloud

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Location:
    Anchorage, AK
    #10
    The delta update also installs via the Mac App Store. If you install the Delta, it keeps all your settings intact.
     
  11. jamesjingyi thread starter macrumors 6502a

    jamesjingyi

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #11
    Thank you! :D
     
  12. guitarevan07 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2014
    #12
    It is not a stupid question at all. Why would you call someone's question stupid when you don't know the answer at all, clearly.

    I torrented DP1 and I was able to update to DP2 through the appstore. I am not a developer.
     
  13. GhettoMrBob macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 21, 2014
    #13
    FWIW, mine wouldn't install unless I did it via command line. Even then if took a few reboots/re-attempts for it to go.
     
  14. King Shady macrumors 6502

    King Shady

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Location:
    Princeton, NJ
    #14
    Wrong. :rolleyes::cool:
     
  15. Prabas, Jun 17, 2014
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2014

    Prabas macrumors 6502a

    Prabas

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Location:
    Europe
    #15

    How did you do it?

    Nevermind, I managed to install it.
     
  16. rlsikosek macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2014
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    #16
    OS X 10.10 DP1 installed here as a non-developer. The update of DP2 shows up in the App Store and I can download it.


    Is it safe to update from DP1 to DP2 as a non-developer?:apple:
     
  17. FallenHeaven macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    #17
    Good that is how is suppose to work by not installing and stalling.
     
  18. colincjw macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2013
    #18
    For those who are unable to update DP1 to DP2 via the App Store, try logging out of the App Store.

    I managed to update DP1 to DP2 without an Apple ID on my Mac
     
  19. keithk79 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2014
    #19
    How did you manage to get it to work? I'm having the exact same problem DP2 gets hung up when it asks to restart.
     
  20. DocMultimedia macrumors 6502

    DocMultimedia

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2012
    Location:
    Charlottesville, VA
    #20
    On the Apple Dev Forums there are also a lot of reported problems where either the update runs but the new version doesn't get installed, and other cases where it ends up with a crashed boot screen. A lot of these cases seem to be due to having 10.10 on an external HD.

    I couldn't get my system to update to DP2. No crash for me. It just goes through the process and still boots up in DP1. I'm going to wait for DP3 and see if that one properly updates.

    The fun of developer previews.
     
  21. King Shady macrumors 6502

    King Shady

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Location:
    Princeton, NJ
    #21
    I updated mine via App Store and everything installed perfectly. DP2 is much, much smoother than DP1. I'm running on a 2012 MBPr if that helps at all.
     
  22. BasicGreatGuy Contributor

    BasicGreatGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Location:
    In the middle of several books.
    #22
    I just updated as well, and the install went smoothly. I believe it was a 1.6 GB download on Late 2011 13" MBP.
     
  23. m4v3r1ck macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #23
    Indeed, reverted from PCIe card to internal SSD bay#1. Resolved my issues (for now).

    ~ Cheers
     
  24. dezmen macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2014
    #24
    1. Put English language and USA location
    2. Install iTunes update first.
    3. Install OS X update.

    If OS X didn't installed, use terminal (only after itunes update):
    sudo softwareupdate -ia
     
  25. Scarphac3 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    #25
    I just did it and everything went fine
     

Share This Page