OS X Yosemite is seriously unfinished...

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by Swagged, Oct 17, 2014.

  1. Swagged macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011
    Location:
    Gotham City, New York
    #1
    how could they release this half-a$$ project to the public? My notification center is incomplete.....where is my weather, stocks? No where to be found...

    [​IMG]

    When I double-tap with three fingers to define a highlighted word it defines the first word of the sentence instead of the highlighted word
    [​IMG]

    And I'm pretty sure that's just the beginning...
     
  2. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #2
    There isn't anything wrong with Yosemite being half-baked. I think something went wrong in your installation. You may try doing a restore.

    My Notification Center works just fine 'out of the box' and so does defining words and such.
    Screen Shot 2014-10-17 at 5.54.59 AM.png
     
  3. mercuryjones macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Location:
    College Station, TX
    #3
    It's not the OS, it looks like your install might be borked. It's all working fine here for me.
     
  4. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #4
    It seems to be working for me. As the others stated, it seems more local to your installation then a bug in 10.10
     
  5. n-evo macrumors 65816

    n-evo

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2013
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    #5
    Just did an erase & install. Everything is working fine. Both three-finger tab to bring up Dictionary and Weather in Notification Center.


    But man do I feel stupid. I thought there was a bug in Beta 4 and onward where the weather widget didn't allow me to remove the cities of Antwerp and Brussels. I would delete them, but within no time they'd be back again. After the erase & install I suddenly noticed those exact same cities popped back up again: Amsterdam, Rotterdam, Utrecht, Antwerp, Brussels. Then it struck me: I have the exact same collection of cities in my iPhone 5s Weather app. The list is being synced though iCloud across devices. :D

    For a second there it really freaked me out. Haha omg. :eek:
     
  6. ABC5S Suspended

    ABC5S

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2013
    Location:
    Florida
    #6
    Works just fine here. OP, you are assuming its Yosemite. It's at your end. Try it again.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Swagged, Oct 18, 2014
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2014

    Swagged thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011
    Location:
    Gotham City, New York
    #7
    Edit: I restarted my pc and the weather and everything's there but trying to define a highlighted word is still F'ed up!!! [​IMG]
     
  8. msh macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Location:
    SoCal
    #8
    Go to System Preferences---> Extensions--> click Today--> enable the items you want to appear in today
     
  9. simonsi macrumors 601

    simonsi

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Auckland
    #9
    Well I'm glad they didn't delay even one day because of that feature as I never use it.

    Try and keep things in a little perspective, EVERY tiny issue isn't mission critical.
     
  10. thedeejay macrumors 65816

    thedeejay

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada.
    #10
    Exactly. As mentioned by simonsi, it's not a critical issue. If you wanted a definition of a word then for now you'd probably have to Google it.
     
  11. Menge macrumors 6502a

    Menge

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    #11
    The "define" gesture defines the word under the cursor when I triple-tapped here, not the highlighted word.
     
  12. Swagged thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011
    Location:
    Gotham City, New York
    #12
    Mine defines the first word no matter where my cursor is...
     
  13. Menge macrumors 6502a

    Menge

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    #13
    Something went wrong with your install :\ My result was from a clean install.
    I've had stupid stuff like drive icons not showing the new ones on upgraded installs, too.

    If you really want this fixed, then a backup, format, and install anew might be able to fix this?
     
  14. petsounds macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    #14
    If you right-click on a word in Safari and select Look Up "<wordname>", it'll use that word. The gesture tap might be location-sensitive, so if you're tapping outside of that text area, it may choose the closest word or perhaps the first word.
     
  15. Spink10 Suspended

    Spink10

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    #15
    Calendar not working for me :( fresh install n all
     
  16. swifty1989 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    #16
    Mines dodgy when I start up the MacBook. Sometimes logs me in but never loads the top bar, something's logs me in but then freezes and then other times it works fine. very hit and miss.
     

Share This Page