OSX 10.4.11 and Epson Perfection V700 Photo?

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by spotix, Jan 28, 2008.

  1. spotix macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Location:
    mid-Michigan
    #1
    Does anyone know if this has a prayer of working as a combination? I am wondering if there is anything a person can buy without a lot of extra work to get a scan of negs. My Microtek i700 demands a lot of extra steps on my older Mac. It doesn't seem to like my OSX 10.4.11 Tiger at all. EP V700 or a friend with a pc......hmmmm ?
     
  2. M@lew macrumors 68000

    M@lew

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #2
    I have read that all the Epson scanners work with Macs. I am looking at picking up the V500 and haven't read any compatibility issues.
     
  3. uc58fiji macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    #3
    V500 on-scanner buttons do not function for iMac

    I just bought an Epson V500 scanner to run on my Intel-based iMac. Now I find out that the scan-buttons on the front of the scanner do not work for this type of computer. I called Epson tech help, and that is what I was told.

    The scanner does respond to the Scan-button on the on-screen application dialog.

    I want to try one more thing: I also have Windows Vista running as a virtual machine on this iMac, when using Parallels Desktop. I'll try installing the Windows application for the scanner and see what happens.

    I have not seen anything in the Epson V500 tech requirements stating that the scanner buttons would not operate with an iMac. Grrrr... http://images.macrumors.com/vb/images/smilies/mad.gif
     
  4. shootfilm macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    #4
    mac and v700

    I am running 10.5 and just connected my v700 for the first time. No problems. Easy scan button worked without hiccups. :D
     
  5. iBallz macrumors 6502

    iBallz

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Location:
    So. Utah
    #5
    Hey filmshooter, I was thinking of getting one for 4x5" film, have you tried that? Or whatever you're scanning, does it turn out good, or great? Thanks
     
  6. shootfilm macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    #6
    I haven't done the 4x5 yet. But I have done slides, negatives, and prints. I didn't mention earlier that I am on an iMac.

    What a precious site to see that first slide show up on the screen. I am staying film!
     

Share This Page