OSX about this mac storage bug

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by Helzyus, Feb 7, 2015.

  1. Helzyus macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2015
    #1
    Hello.
    I am a new mac user. Got a bit tired of windows and apple systems always appeal to me. I recently bought a 27" imac late 2013 gtx775m and well with my great bad luck i am having troubles.


    The first imac that i got had the power on button not working.
    And the store changed the product with a new sealed one.
    But this time i have this bug...

    As u can see in the image below the storage is all messed up.
    Phoned apple center and they said to format the disk and reinstall yosemite.
    I did and now this again...
    Cant seem to find a solution just keeps happening 24/7 and its a shame since i was so excited about changing to apple.

    Cumps.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #2
    I hope you did not already reinstall, because that is not needed.

    What happens is that graphic gets its data from the Spotlight index and when that index is corrupted that graphic will be all wrong like yours is. Just run the command below in Terminal to reindex Spotlight and it will fix this. Give it some time as the reindex can take an hour or so.

    Code:
    sudo mdutil -E /
     
  3. Helzyus thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2015
    #3
    Well since i am a new user i did what the apple center told me. :/ will try that thanks man.
     
  4. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #4
    Oh i get it, and I was not criticizing you at all. One would just think Apple tech support would have known what this was rather than have you reinstall.
     
  5. Helzyus thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2015
    #5
    btw and sorry for my ignorance. how can i write the terminal command?
     
  6. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #6
    Go to Applications->Utilities->Terminal
     
  7. Helzyus thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2015
    #7
    and i just simply paste it and close terminal?
     
  8. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #8
    Paste it in then hit the return (enter) key to run the command then you can quit Terminal while it completes the reindex. If you click the Spotlight icon in the menu bar while it is reindexing you will see a blue progress bar kinda like this.

    [​IMG]
     
  9. Helzyus thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2015
    #9
    think i did it.
    is this a common bug? harmful in any way?
     

    Attached Files:

  10. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #10
    Yep you did it. If you click the Spotlight menu item you should be able to see the progress indicator.

    It is not harmful and just a Yosemite bug. It was fairly common in older OS X versions, then seemed to be very rare under Mavericks, now with Yosemite it is back.
     
  11. Helzyus thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2015
    #11
    since i only have 23gb of stuff on the imac that waiting time did not appear.
    Atm its like this.
    Think its working.
    So if it happens again (and i hope not but its likely to happen i just do this).
    ur being a really big help, thank you.
     

    Attached Files:

  12. Helzyus thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2015
    #12
    So the bug happen again. After i use the terminal cmd the spotlight endures about one week.
    Is it ok to keep using the terminal cmd?
     
  13. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #13
    The problem does come back again for some people, and it won't hurt to just run the command again.
     
  14. Helzyus thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2015
    #14
    Second time it happens after this thread. i immediately use the cmd, but since i know its coming again why bother :v
     

Share This Page