OSX and iOS have become bloated and slow

Discussion in 'Apple, Inc and Tech Industry' started by surjavarman, Nov 11, 2016.

  1. surjavarman macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    #1
    I have an iphone 4s and an iphone 5. My iphone 4s right now is unusable because of all the bloat and useless features they keep adding to iOS. My iphone 5 was running iOS6 and it was blazing fast. I could go toe to toe with all the flagship phones from 2016. I am forced to restore my iphone 5 to 10.1.1 now cause I messed up and I am not happy. Now take a look at the nexus 4 which was half the price of the iphone 5 at that time. Its running android 7 without any performance issues. How can my iphone 5 lose to that?

    The same thing is happening with their desktop OS. Its become bloated and slow and they are becoming like windows.The best version is still Snow Leopard. You could run that version on 500mb of RAM. I sold my 2 grand macbook 2 years ago and switched to linux. Over the years my workflow has evolved to just a web browser and a couple of terminals. The lost me for their desktop market.
     
  2. BrianBaughn macrumors 601

    BrianBaughn

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    #2
    I know what you mean! Gasoline isn't as good as it used to be, either. I clearly recall octane numbers of 98 and 99 from when I was a kid. You put 93 into a early 60's Porsche and no way you're getting the performance you should.
     
  3. chabig macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2002
    #3
    Try running Sierra on a Mac Classic. It's so slow it won't even boot!

    We should start a petition for Apple--no more forward progress until surjavarman says it's ok.
     
  4. AustinIllini macrumors demi-god

    AustinIllini

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #4
    Windows and Android are far worse. Both undergo serious OS Rot.
     
  5. Tech198, Nov 16, 2016
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2016

    Tech198 macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Location:
    Australia, Perth
    #5
    Windows has 'bloated' trial-ware..... Apple has useful apps by default.. may not be used, but not bloated by far... since their "Apple's own apps, and not stuck on from third party companies"
     
  6. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #6
    I think that's a stretch,especially looking at Pages, and photos.

    Not all PCs come with trial-ware, my SurfaceBook didn't.
     
  7. philosopherdog macrumors 6502a

    philosopherdog

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    #7
    Those devices are obsolete. There's no problem with the OS.
     
  8. Mr_Brightside_@ macrumors 68020

    Mr_Brightside_@

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Location:
    The 6ix
    #8
     

    Attached Files:

  9. 844957 Suspended

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    #9
    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    The new iOS is taking advantage of all that new power. iOS 10 is much faster than iOS9 when it came out.

    macOS Sierra runs great on my MBA 2013.
     
  10. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #10
    I've yet to add Sierra on my iMac, I've seen enough people posting about issues with graphic drivers and other bugs to keep me away. There's not much that apple did in Sierra that tempts me to upgrade anyways.
     
  11. macmee Suspended

    macmee

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
    #11
    Same as my SP4 but I think lots of windows machines come with bloat still
    --- Post Merged, Nov 18, 2016 ---
    Oh yeah, I get black screen of death coming out of sleep on sierra on my iMac. I think it doesn't like that I'm running an external 4k on dp 1.2
     
  12. 844957 Suspended

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    #12
    I got that on my iMac when I was using the nVidia webdriver on 10.12.0 but on the default driver on 10.12.1 Im all good
     
  13. macmee Suspended

    macmee

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
    #13
    hmm, I have an m295x in my iMac
     
  14. nav92 macrumors member

    nav92

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2013
    #14
    Nexus 4 never even got Android 6, let alone 7 so I think you mean a custom ROM or something. Those ROMs are usually faster (animations, less bloat etc?!) than stock ROM which helps the performance.
     

Share This Page