OSX and Ultra-Wide Monitors. Colored white noise?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by GraniteTheWolf, Oct 13, 2015.

  1. GraniteTheWolf, Oct 13, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 13, 2015

    GraniteTheWolf macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2013
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    #1
    I recently upgraded to a wonderful big 34" ultra-wide and while in OSX It sometimes goes into a fuzzy colored "white noise" when switching resolutions or first turning on the computer. it displays as normal for a moment and then the monitor turns into this white noise, as shown in the attached photo.

    The monitor is a LG 34UM64 and I have it connected by a proper Dual Link DVI-D cable.

    My setup is a 2012 Mac Pro, 3.33ghz 6-core. 16gb ram, Nvidia GTX 570 Superclocked GPU (Running stock OSX driver) OSX Yosemite 10.10.5 as of this post.

    Is this a stock OSX driver fault? Should I switch to the web driver? I am just wondering what I should do.
    So far the only way to fix it is if I turn the monitor off and back on again.

    For reference, I have zero issues in bootcamp (Windows 7.) I can switch resolutions and do all the same things that set off the "noise" in OSX without seeing the problem pop up thats in OSX at times.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #2
    At least a few of us, including me, are using ultrawides. Mine works and I haven't seen any other complaints. I use a DP cable.

    Incidentally, I've seen that exact snow image after booting into OS X using a single link DVI cable and a GTX 680. This was fixed by switching to a Dual Link DVI cable. I'm a bit flummoxed because the snow really looked exactly like that, but you say you have a dual link cable and and that it works in Windows.
     
  3. superdx macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    #3
    This used to happen to a 27" Dell monitor in my 5 monitor setup. I never figured out what was wrong. The monitor is dead now and I've replaced it with an old 27" Cinema Display, so I don't have the white noise anymore. It goes away by itself after a minute or so. I think the latest Nvidia web drivers did play a part in getting rid of it.
     
  4. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #4
    It looks like the GTX570 SuperClock has a Display Port. I'd try a DP cable. It may not fix the problem, but they are cheap enough to give it a try and frankly I like them much better than DVI cables anyway.
     
  5. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #5
    Sometimes, inferior quality video cables can be the source of anomalies.
     
  6. GraniteTheWolf thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2013
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    #6
    Mine only has 2 DVI ports and a mini-HDMI port. I tried HDMi but its max resolution output is 1080p for some odd reason.

    I just got done installing the Nvidia Web driver, we'll see what happens. So far it seems like it only does it once in a great while. It only happens when first turning the computer on or changing the resolution.

    Turning the monitor off and then when its turned back on its normal again.
     
  7. GraniteTheWolf thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2013
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    #7
    I'm not sure but its possible i have a bad DVI Dual Link cable, its just a $20 generic (overpriced I know... but i wanted something right away) cable I got from a little computer shop called Milwaukee PC.
     
  8. GraniteTheWolf thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2013
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    #8
    Well, even with the Nvidia web driver I am able to make it give a colored snow by switching the resolution. The usual fix is turning the monitor off and back on again. After turning it back on it stays stable. Hmm.
     
  9. GraniteTheWolf thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2013
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    #9
    Well, it appears to be an HDCP handshake problem. Quoted from this link: "The white snow that you see is the encrypted HDCP data not being decrypted properly. Basically the Apple hardware detects an HDCP compliant video device, but the handshake is not happening correctly."
    https://discussions.apple.com/thread/1947029?start=135&tstart=0

    Perhaps I should order a higher quality brand name DVI-D Dual link cable instead of using this no-name brand one from a computer shop.
     
  10. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #10
    I can accept that swapping cables might fix the problem, but I'm not too sure about the underlying theory.

    HDCP handshakes are required for encrypted video (content with DRM like an HD iTunes movie). If OS X was encrypting 100% of video, even just the OS itself, we'd be hearing a ton of complaints from people using older monitors without HDCP or cables/adapters that don't support it.

    In any case, I still think you're making the right move. A different cable fixed the problem in my case.
     
  11. GraniteTheWolf thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2013
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    #11
    If you don't mind me asking, what model cable do you have that's working well for you? I would like to get the same one if its a DVI-D cable.
     
  12. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #12
    Cables To Go 26911

    Amazon has them.
     
  13. superdx macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    #13
    I remember using the Apple HDMI cable with my Dell, then switched to a DVI-D cable. I can't remember if this solved it or not, but I'd assume the Apple cable isn't of poor quality. My Cinema Display is hooked up to a GT120 over DisplayPort, so maybe that takes HDCP out of the equation.
     
  14. GraniteTheWolf thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2013
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    #14
    Searching it, it appears that's the exact cable I currently have that I got from the little computer store. I recognize the same logo on my cable.

    A couple days ago I purchased this ULTRA brand cable: http://www.ebay.com/itm/321757811988?_trksid=p2060353.m2749.l2649&ssPageName=STRK:MEBIDX:IT

    ULTRA appears to be a fairly large computer brand selling many different parts. if this doesn't fix it I'lll just live with it until I upgrade my graphics card to a GTX 980, then I'll use a Displayport cable.
     
  15. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #15
    I hope things work out for you.

    That's what I use now, a GTX 980 with a DP cable.
     
  16. GraniteTheWolf thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2013
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    #16
    Just want to report back now that I am running a GTX 970 with a DisplayPort cable driving my ultra-wide. All seems perfect now.

    Seems no more colored white noise (Failed monitor handshake.) This must be exclusively a DVI problem when driving an ultra-wide. I can change resolutions in the settings of OSX and it doesn't come back with a colored fuzz.
     

Share This Page