OSX Fresh Reinstall

Discussion in 'macOS' started by echosystm, Jul 28, 2010.

1. echosystm macrumors newbie

Hi guys

I'm new to Macs and I'm still learning how they actually work. I'm a bit anal retentive when it comes to my computers and I like to completely reset them to a blank state whenever they need a reinstall. On a PC, I will typically reset the BIOS and erase the MBR. I would like to know how to do the equivalent on a Mac. However, it would seem very few Mac users have any idea what is really going on inside their computer, so my research efforts have been pretty fruitless. FYI, I am aware that disk utility has an erase option, but this doesn't do what I want it to.

From what I gather, resetting the PRAM and SMC are somewhat equivalent to resetting the BIOS on a PC. Are there any other things that can be reset, or is it just these two?

In terms of erasing the "MBR", I really have no idea how GPT works. So far I've just been doing a dd on the first 500mb of the drive (dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/disk0 bs=512 count=1000000), under the assumption that the GUID data is at the very start of the drive. I know the EFI partition is within the first ~200mb of the drive, so at least that is getting erased. I'm concerned that perhaps the GUID data sits at the end of the drive. Can anyone confirm the location of the GPT on a Mac?

Cheers

2. MacDawg macrumors P6

MacDawg

Sorry, I can't help you...

I am just glad I don't have to worry about all of that stuff on my Mac :)

3. MisterMe macrumors G4

MisterMe

No, it is not. The Mac does not have a BIOS. A BIOS is a 1981 solution to a 1981 problem. It is not 1981 anymore. The closest thing on the Mac to the BIOS is Intel's EFI. However, it is much more sophisticated than a BIOS.