Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Nerdtastic

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 27, 2014
Hi,
In our household we have a mix of Macbooks and Windows machines. I am looking to setup a server to manage these. I am just wondering if I should use OSX Server on a Hackintosh (would it be cheaper and easier to get a mac mini?) or Windows Home Server. I was going to use it for a few things:

-Media Server
-File Sharing
-Maybe backups
-Minecraft server/other servers
-Needs to run 24/7
-Easy to use (relatively)

I really like OSX server but I am wondering is it easy to do these things with non-mac hardware.

Thanks
(sorry. I am new to networking :)

Last edited:

dimme

macrumors 68040
Feb 14, 2007
SF, CA
Although you may be able to get a hackintouch to run server, it may be a bad idea. You may never to be able to get all the services you want to run correctly.

As far a which OS for your needs you may want to look into Amahi http://www.amahi.org. because you have a mix of mac and windows and it's a bit more straight forward that running a regular linux server.

At my last job we need a simple file server for our mixed of Mac and windows, and a PC running a desktop version of linux worked great and the hardware did not break the bank.

OS X server is great but you will not realize all the benefits running it in a mixed environment. Before I moved to OS X server I was running WHS2011 and I liked it but being all mac I decided to go with OS X server.

apunkrockmonk

macrumors 6502a
Nov 20, 2005
Rochester, NY
I'd like to add that I run Mavericks Server just fine on both a Hackintosh and virtualized on an ESXi hypervisor (gigabyte g31m-es2l with a core 2 duo).

If you don't mind the hassle of building a hackintosh, which these days isn't much if you choose your parts wisely, you should be fine to use one instead of a Mac Mini should you choose to go the OS X Server route.

Nerdtastic