Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

eyup

macrumors regular
Original poster
Aug 21, 2006
UK
Yo all,

For some reason i can't find the answer to this...

I set set up a local VPN using this guide:
http://lifehacker.com/turn-an-old-mac-into-a-cheap-vpn-with-os-x-server-1743411938

Set it up on my macbook

Used a Dynamic DNS at FreeDNS.

Main machine is a hackintosh desktop jobby.
http://freedns.afraid.org/signup/
So the question is - can I browse the web and download torrents etc anonymously, like if I'd paid for a VPN with windscribe or purevpn ?

?

does a 'local VPN' hide IP's if traffic is routed through it? maybe?

I dunno - info req...

Erdbeertorte

Suspended
May 20, 2015
Hey,

I don't think this might work like you think. The IP address of your main computer gets hidden by that, but not the one from the MacBook where the VPN is set up or the main one from your Internet provider.

But I am no expert. To test it you could search for websites that show your IP address and location like speed tests for example.

Andy2k

macrumors member
Jul 18, 2015
Not if you're file sharing. You're still using your ISP's IP address and DNS resolvers. So if someone were to have a problem with the file you're sharing, ultimately the computer sharing the file still has your unique public IP address that can be traced directly back to you.

Yo all,

http://lifehacker.com/turn-an-old-mac-into-a-cheap-vpn-with-os-x-server-1743411938

Set it up on my macbook

So the question is - can I browse the web and download torrents etc anonymously, like if I'd paid for a VPN with windscribe or purevpn ?

?

I dunno - info req...
Yo all,

Set it up on my macbook

?

I dunno - info req...

Reactions: eyup

cruisin

macrumors 6502a
Apr 1, 2014
Canada