osx theme on wondows xp

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by pavelbure, Jun 17, 2007.

  1. pavelbure macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2007
    #1
    i downloaded and installed go fly a kite today.

    http://www.osx-e.com/downloads/misc/flyakite_osx.html

    i just wanted to start getting used to a mac theme. anyone else ever try something like this or possibly something better ?

    i wasn't sure what forum to put this in, so i put it here.
     
  2. zauriel macrumors member

    zauriel

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Location:
    Nixa, MO
    #2
    What about Vista?

    posted this in another thread but no response yet ... help!

    Okay, I've been doing quite a bit of searching and I'm having a hard time finding a program or programs that would allow you to make Vista look like OS X. Everything I find indicates they work just for XP.

    Does anybody know of a way to make this happen for Vista? Do any of the programs/techniques for XP also work for Vista? Since system files are involved, I'd rather not be the first to beta test that.
     
  3. showtime macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    #3
    Don't know about vista but for xp flyakite is probably the easiest, quick solution to making xp look like a mac. You could always do things individually, like changing the icon set, the theme, download objectdock, etc.
     
  4. synth3tik macrumors 68040

    synth3tik

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    #4
    The look matters very very little. It's easy to find a theme that looks like OS X, but then again themes on Windows tends to have issues. The main difference noticeable to the end user is the file system. The on ly way to get a feel for the file system is to play with a Mac, whether at a friend's or an Apple store. Just getting a theme will not show you OS X.
     
  5. M@lew macrumors 68000

    M@lew

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #5
    Flyakite is very easy to get your PC to look like a Mac. But after a long time of using it, if you want to go back, pretty much the only way is to format your HD. I know. :)

    Btw @zauriel I think WindowBlinds works with Vista now.
     

Share This Page