OTA iOS6 Updates?

Discussion in 'iOS 6' started by lyricthejoe, Jul 9, 2012.

  1. lyricthejoe macrumors member

    lyricthejoe

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    #1
    I installed iOS6 b2 via downloaded firmware, so it was a fresh install. I know that beta 3 has yet to be released, but does anyone know if it will allow me to update to b3 over-the-air, or will I have to install a fresh copy every time a new beta is released?

    Thanks!:apple:
     
  2. Bburk macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    #2
    There is no guarantee that there is even a beta 3 coming out today
     
  3. lyricthejoe thread starter macrumors member

    lyricthejoe

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    #3
    I wasn't asking about beta 3's release date, or expecting it to arrive today. I'm asking if my iPhone will allow me to update TO beta 3 over-the-air.
     
  4. Futhark macrumors 65816

    Futhark

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    #4
    Yes you can
     
  5. batting1000 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Location:
    Florida
    #5
    Every software update since iOS 5 beta 4 has been OTA so why would iOS 6 beta 3 be any different?
     
  6. lyricthejoe thread starter macrumors member

    lyricthejoe

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    #6
    I wasn't sure if it would allow me to do so, since I am not developer. Great news, though. Thanks!
     
  7. batting1000 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Location:
    Florida
    #7
    Well that's a different story. If you're not a dev, it's possible Apple will not allow you to update via OTA or iTunes so you should be extra careful.
     
  8. jnl1211 macrumors 6502

    jnl1211

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011
    Location:
    NWIndiana
    #8
    I love 3 idiots voted your post down. Note: If you're not a dev, pretend you are. Actual devs, and people who are jealous they paid the $99 for a dev account will whine and complain.


    Anyways, as long as your UDID is registered, you can DL OTA
     
  9. batting1000 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Location:
    Florida
    #9
    Who's whining and complaining or acting jealous here?
     
  10. jnl1211 macrumors 6502

    jnl1211

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011
    Location:
    NWIndiana
    #10
    I dont recall saying anyone in this thread currently was. It was an overall tip.
     
  11. batting1000 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Location:
    Florida
    #11
    You implied it..
     
  12. Burton8219 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 12, 2007
    #12
    OK let's put an end to this before people get upset... OP, yes you should be able to update to Beta 3 once it becomes available. Let's close this one up.
     
  13. lyricthejoe thread starter macrumors member

    lyricthejoe

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    #13
    Thanks for the feedback. Simple questions should yield simple answers, I'll post again and let you all know if it works or not.
     
  14. Futhark macrumors 65816

    Futhark

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    #14
    It will work.
     
  15. *Calypso* macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    Location:
    Germany
    #15
    To my knowledge there is no UDID check implemented in the OTA function yet. Usually it is safer to wait for the first forum posts after the release to see if Apple checks the UDID. But to be honest, I don't think Apple would maliciously brick iPhones via OTA, so you would probably get an error before it even updates.
     
  16. jnl1211 macrumors 6502

    jnl1211

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011
    Location:
    NWIndiana
    #16
    I believe it's only at initial activation that UDID's etc are checked.
     

Share This Page