OTA Update

Discussion in 'iOS 5 and earlier' started by Dino F, Nov 10, 2011.

  1. Dino F macrumors 68020

    Dino F

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Location:
    Croydon, South London, UK
    #1
    Quick question - do I need my iPhone 4 to be plugged in to a power source to do the OTA update to 5.0.1?
     
  2. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #2
    It is recommended to save battery but not required
     
  3. verwon macrumors 68030

    verwon

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Location:
    Seattle
    #3
    No, but you have to be on wifi and have 50%+ battery.
     
  4. Blakjack macrumors 68000

    Blakjack

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    #4
    No u don't. I had 71% when I started the update. When it was done, I had 69%
     
  5. ScootPatoot macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #5
    :confused:
     
  6. JRoDDz macrumors 68000

    JRoDDz

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Location:
    NJ
    #6
    50% battery life or plugged into power. Plus you have to be on wifi.
     
  7. iAmYou macrumors 6502

    iAmYou

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    #7
    I'm guessing reading comprehension is not a strong suit.
     
  8. Thetonyk123 macrumors 68000

    Thetonyk123

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Location:
    Earth
    #8
    I had it plugged into my wall. Updated within 10 minutes.
     
  9. dotme macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    Location:
    Iowa
    #9
    I'm guessing both posts were responding to the OP
     
  10. Thetonyk123 macrumors 68000

    Thetonyk123

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Location:
    Earth
    #10
    Oh wow sometimes I can be a little dumb :D
     
  11. Calidude macrumors 68000

    Calidude

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    #11
    You don't need to be plugged in. Takes about 2% of your battery. No big deal. Takes about 10 minutes. Easiest update ever.
     
  12. vintageapple macrumors member

    vintageapple

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
  13. Friscochris macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    #13
    My update took ~5 minutes. Was way more quick than being plugged in. +EV
     
  14. iAmYou macrumors 6502

    iAmYou

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    #14
    Pretty sure blackjacks post is in response to the one directly above his.
    As his answer really doesn't pertain to the OP much. :rolleyes:
     

Share This Page