Out of box iMac not playing dvds/cds

Discussion in 'iMac' started by rjlk05, Sep 14, 2008.

  1. rjlk05 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    #1
    just took delivery of my new iMac last week and have not been able to play any cds of dvds.

    checked preferences to verify that appropriate program is prompted upon insertion.

    basically drive will accept media.. media spins and ejects. no screen prompts

    Please let me know if there is a simple solution - frustrating to have this issue with a new product.
     
  2. prostuff1 macrumors 65816

    prostuff1

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Location:
    Don't step into the kawoosh...
    #2
    This might sound like a stupid question but are you putting it in correctly. With the label facing toward you?

    I assume you have restarted the computer and that does not help.

    Are these retail CD/DVD, are they unburned disc's, are they ones that you have burned yourself?

    Let us know some more info and we might be able to help some more.
     
  3. rjlk05 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    #3
    - yes label is facing toward me. computer has been completed shutdown /restarted. media are original dvds /cd



     
  4. prostuff1 macrumors 65816

    prostuff1

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Location:
    Don't step into the kawoosh...
    #4
    Do they work in another computer?

    Try them in another mac or in a windows PC if you can. Also make sure they are cleaned off and nothing is on them.
     
  5. kalex macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    #5
    Wierd. could be a defective super drive. Macs play dvds out of the box
     
  6. rjlk05 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    #6

    first of all - thanks for taking the time to help offer.

    - dvd/cd 's not working in my new iMac play fine on my pc. :confused

    This is my first mac (after 20+ with pc) and so far is not a great experience..especially if I have to send it back for repair before using.
     
  7. CristobalHuet macrumors 65816

    CristobalHuet

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Location:
    Montreal
    #7
    Don't let this mark your Mac experience, after all, returns/damaged products are quite frequent in our world, even among the almighty Mac.

    I had to return mine cause my HD was fried, 1 week after I got it...it annoyed me then, but now I couldn't be happier, though I could do without my two screen bleeds. :( Just call Apple, they'll help you, trust me, ask to return your product, talk to the agent, and he'll set it up for you. It's a very simple and straightforward process, Applecare is one of the best customer support I've dealt with, if not THE best.
     
  8. teleromeo macrumors 65816

    teleromeo

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Location:
    kidnapped by aliens
    #8
    call applecare, you have free support. they will help you figure out what's going wrong. Get the machine replaced if it's faulty.
     
  9. rjlk05 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    #9
    Thanks for the encouragement..I will check with applecare tomorrow. If they determine that just the superdrive is faulty, would you still recommend that I request full replacement?
     
  10. teleromeo macrumors 65816

    teleromeo

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Location:
    kidnapped by aliens
    #10
    If it is a hardware problem you should have it replaced, not repaired.
     
  11. CristobalHuet macrumors 65816

    CristobalHuet

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Location:
    Montreal
    #11
    Absolutely, and no problem!

    In fact, if anything, they'll give you the replacement. :)
     
  12. rjlk05 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    #12

    After 4 calls (+4 case#s) with applecare, they are sending me shipping labels which I can use to return my iMac. Upon shipping the "old", they are going to send out a new iMac.

    I just hope the replacement doesnt have issues.
     

Share This Page