'Out of memory' Mac Pro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by jules1977, Jul 13, 2007.

  1. jules1977 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    #1
    On a few occasions in the last couple of days, my mac pro, has been giving me the 'Out of memory' pop-up.

    My machine has:
    Processor: 2 x 2Ghz Dual Core Intel Xeon
    Memory: 2GB 667MHz DDR2 FB-DIMM
    I still have 134GB space left on my hard drive.

    Does anyone know how to sort this?

    Cheers
    Jules1977
     
  2. bartelby macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
  3. jules1977 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    #3
    Trying to print......I have printed this document before and had no problem, but now it is saying 'Out of memory'.
     
  4. pknz macrumors 68020

    pknz

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2005
    Location:
    NZ
  5. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #5
    Not to mention what printer, and driver.
     
  6. jules1977 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    #6
    The indesign document is 6.2MB, but collectively the folder is 140MB but I have done plenty of documents a lot bigger than this.
     
  7. jules1977 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
  8. Kosh66 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    #8
    I'd be asking whether it's the computer or the printer that's out of memory. I haven't heard of Macs giving this message since MacOS 9. Maybe it's the printer complaining? Printers have memory too.
     
  9. jules1977 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    #9
    It is saying it whilst I am trying to make a pdf too? Has anyone come across this problem too? I never have before.
     
  10. Eraserhead macrumors G4

    Eraserhead

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #10
    I've had this problem on my iMac G5, I don't think the issue is the computer RAM.

    Ideally first check the printer works OK on another machine (which I imagine it will), and that a similar printer works OK on your machine.

    The solution I was given (with Apple support on the phone for an hour) is to reinstall the OS with an Archive and Install, the printer has worked fine since.
     
  11. Sean Dempsey macrumors 68000

    Sean Dempsey

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    #11
    Something is wrong. Probably not major, but I'd call Apple if you still are in your support window. Your machine should NOT be doing that.
     
  12. marco114 macrumors 6502

    marco114

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2001
    Location:
    USA
    #12
    it's likely the memory of the printer that's a problem. it may be too complex of a document. try making a PDF of it first and print that.
     
  13. djbahdow01 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2004
    Location:
    Northeast, CT
    #13
    Open up a new document and copy everything over to the new document. Try that I had an issue with Illustrator, and i ordered more RAM and still had the issue. Afterwards I just copied and pasted into a new document and it worked totally fine.

    I think its just a weird bug in some Adobe products.
     
  14. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #14
    Did you say that the folder of supporting graphics is 140 Mb??

    You need to break this document down to smaller chapters, and.or resave the graphics at lower resolutions. My guess is that you have a whole bunch of 4 megapixel graphics that have been resized in InDesign to postage stamp size - creating images that are effectively 2,500 dpi.

    Open those in Photoshop and save them at a suitable print resolution in the intended print size.
     
  15. jules1977 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    #15
    The 'collected' folder for the whole job is 140MB. All my images are 300dpi and have been resized in photoshop, then imported at this correct size into InDesign so the problem isn't with this - but thanks for giving me some ideas!!

    Now it won't let me pdf a simple double sided A5 flyer......think I have a problem somewhere. I'm stuck!!!

    Jules
     
  16. jules1977 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    #16

    I have tried this but it not worked

    Thanks Jules
     

Share This Page