Out of state

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by fivetoadsloth, Jun 11, 2007.

  1. fivetoadsloth macrumors 65816

    fivetoadsloth

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    #1
    Quick question (I don't have a phone) this im sure will sound dumb to most people. I will be out of state on the 29th, Ill be in California and wouldnt mind stopping in and using one and If per chance Id like to buy one would I have ot wait until I am in my home state or would I be able to buy one with a number that would be at my house? Does that make any sense?

    Thanks a lot, Hope it isn't to dumb.
     
  2. xfiftyfour macrumors 68030

    xfiftyfour

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Location:
    Clemson, SC
    #2
    Depends how far away the other state is. For instance, when I was switching my Michigan account to a SC account, they had a lot of trouble because SC agents don't have access to Michigan accounts.

    Also, isn't there speculation that you won't have to activate it right away? Perhaps you'll be able to buy it wherever you are and wait until you get home to activate it.
     
  3. fivetoadsloth thread starter macrumors 65816

    fivetoadsloth

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    #3
    That would be really cool if i could activate it later. I live in Illinois and I'll be going to Calif.

    Wouldnt mind bringing myself home an iPhone to remember the trip by. ;) :D
     
  4. /dev/toaster macrumors 68020

    /dev/toaster

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #4
    If that was true, that will make my life a lot easier. I am going to get my company to activate it under their plan (and move my number to their plan). I am tired of paying my own bill for business use, figured it was time for them to chip in :D (And yes, I will have an agreement with them to get my number back _if_ I leave the company)
     
  5. fishkorp macrumors 68020

    fishkorp

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Location:
    Ellicott City, MD
    #5
    not sure if AT&T will operate like Cingular did, but Cingluar could only activate a phone in the region it was purchased. so if you purchased a phone in a Philadelphia market, it had to be activated with a Philadelphia phone number. and all numbers on an account need to be in the same market, so you can't have 1 Philadelphia number and one NYC number. the old AT&T wireless used to let you activate anywhere and have a number from any area. hopefully the new AT&T will go back to the old ways.
     
  6. fivetoadsloth thread starter macrumors 65816

    fivetoadsloth

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    #6
    Thats good to know, I sure hope they keep the old way!
     
  7. fivetoadsloth thread starter macrumors 65816

    fivetoadsloth

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    #7
    Well I called Cingular, well now AT&T, about it today and the rep. I spoke to said It would be possible, Though he did mention a "but", He seemed young and whatever he said made no sense. At least I know It is doable (A store and activate a phone to a different state/area code than it was purchased in.)

    I hope the monthly plan info gets released a day or two before the phone.

    :)
     

Share This Page