Outdoor shooting - what to be careful of?

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by RickSchmelz, Jun 14, 2008.

1. RickSchmelz macrumors newbie

I'm hoping you fine folks will be willing to give me a bit of advice. I've searched through the forum archives, but didn't find a whole lot that's on point.

I'm an OK amateur videographer, but by no means a pro. I've got a decent grasp of the basic mechanics of shooting video (use a tripod, don't zoom, don't rely on the camera's built-in microphone, etc), so I'm not so much looking for that kind of advice.

I've worked several events, but they've all been indoors, and this summer I'll be shooting an outdoor wedding.

So, the main question: What are the gotchas I should look out for when shooting outdoors?

I've read up on it a bit, I've been to the site and done some basic legwork, but I'm not going to list "Here's what I already know" - I know for certain that there are holes in my knowledge, and I'd rather not bias any advice you'd be willing to give.

Many thanks in advance.

2. ChemiosMurphy macrumors 6502

The biggest challenge is combating the wind. I know from experience that getting good audio on a windy day is really hard.

Another thing. Watch your exposure religiously. Overhead clouds will darken your image quickly without you noticing it, and when they go away your image will blow out, just keep an eye on that.

Overall you should be good, just pay extra attention to the audio and maybe bring protective equipment in case it's going to rain. Best of Luck!

3. iJohnHenry macrumors P6

iJohnHenry

Outdoor shooting - what to be careful of?

Don't get hit. 

4. sarge macrumors 6502a

sarge

Don't be powerless...

Usually shooting outdoor's means you're nowhere near a power source. Be sure to bring along another battery.

5. Tilpots macrumors 601

Tilpots

Use the sun. Make sure it's not a backlight or you see more outlines then details.

6. Lunja macrumors 6502

Lunja