output HDMI w/ audio for macpro 3,1?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Dimbles, Jul 18, 2012.

  1. Dimbles, Jul 18, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2012

    Dimbles macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012
    #1
    What solutions are you aware of that lets a macpro 2008 (3,1) output via HDMI with audio? Unfortunately with this model, getting a graphics card that has a HDMI or mini display port to HDMI can not carry audio.

    At the moment I connect my macpro to an HDTV from the DVI with a DVI to HDMI adaptor and the audio output to the amplifier. It'd be nice to just change the HDMI input on my tv to switch to my mac pro, rather than having to change the input on the tv AND amplifier.

    I know some HDMI solutions can be laggy, like using USB2 > HDMI. I'm looking for something with no delay. I'd be outputting with DVI and either the audio output or optical audio output.

    I did some searching and came up with the following.
    http://www.hdtvsupply.com/dvi-audio-to-hdmi.html
    http://www.lightinthebox.com/HDMI-C...--Coaxial-Audio-to-HDMI--SMQC075-_p65069.html
    http://www.amazon.com/StarTech-com-...1&sr=1-28&keywords=hdmi+dvi+audio+adapter+mac
    http://www.amazon.com/StarTech-com-...4&sr=1-83&keywords=hdmi+dvi+audio+adapter+mac

    I have no experience with the above. What are you thoughts on the above products? What can you recommend that has no delay?

    Thanks for your time
     
  2. Dimbles thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012
    #2
    I also found

    http://www.amazon.com/Audio-SPDIF-T...595910&sr=1-7&keywords=hdmi+dvi+audio+adapter

    "I should of listened to the first reviewer with a MacBook Pro. It also doesn't work at all on my intel Mac Mini connected to my HD TV. In the directions I read that it will not work on non compliant HDCP products. Well, ALL Macs are non compliant HDCP. So if you own any Apple Computer DON"T PURCHASE THIS DEVICE!!!"
    This is why I'm looking for macpro users who can share a device that works with 1080p and no delay
     
  3. initialsBB macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    #3
    Wirelessly posted (iPhone)

    DVI does not carry audio, hence the expensive adapters.

    Displayport, however, can carry audio. I know that my Mac Pro 5,1 with ATI 5770 and a simple mDP -> HDMI cable works with audio on an HDTV. However Apple does not support thus in machines that were released before 2010. There may be a hack ?
     
  4. paulrbeers macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    #4
    So your tv doesn't have an audio input that works with the HDMI input?

    There are lots of solutions out there...

    DVI:
    http://www.monoprice.com/products/p...d=1011405&p_id=8124&seq=1&format=1#largeimage

    http://www.monoprice.com/products/p...d=1011405&p_id=5369&seq=1&format=1#largeimage

    Mini Displayport:
    http://www.monoprice.com/products/p...=10428&cs_id=1042802&p_id=6331&seq=1&format=2
     
  5. slughead macrumors 68040

    slughead

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    #5
    Agree with above posts. You need an Apple-approved video card with an HDMI or Display port (then buy an HDMI adapter). This limits you to the 5770 and 5870. It should at that point "just work".

    Also, keep in mind older mac pros (as with older PCs) can't do audio over HDMI. I am not sure the 3,1 is one of those.
     
  6. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #6
    MP 3,1 cannot be made to output sound over HDMI or MDP using OSX. These are indeed the adapters you need, just pick the right one for your outputs:

     
  7. Dimbles, Jul 19, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2012

    Dimbles thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012
    #7
    Thanks for your help paulrbeers

    http://www.monoprice.com/products/p..._id=1011405&p_id=5369&seq=1&format=4#feedback

    Is the best solution for me. Many reviews of it working well with macs in 1080p.

    Update1: I've ordered this, an optical cable, a dvi cable and a HDMI cable. I'm hoping this will work well as a dual screen setup to. I'll keep everyone posted.

    Update2: Works perfectly

    Note: This is an ideal solution for people with macpro 1,1 2,1 and 3,1
     

Share This Page