Over clock 3.33 6 core 2010 mp????

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by TheLOGICalone, Aug 10, 2010.

  1. TheLOGICalone macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Location:
    Jersey
    #1
    Any chance of overclocking the new 3.33 6 core? Not including turbo boost.
     
  2. Spanky Deluxe macrumors 601

    Spanky Deluxe

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    London, UK
    #2
    Not currently possible. The only Mac Pros that can be overclocked currently are 2006/7 and 2008 Mac Pros. In OSX that is. Even with those you couldn't achieve much since you couldn't up the voltage.
     
  3. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #3
  4. Spanky Deluxe macrumors 601

    Spanky Deluxe

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    London, UK
    #4
    I'm pretty sure that tool only supports 2006/7 and 2008 Mac Pros.
     
  5. xgman macrumors 601

    xgman

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    #5
    confirmed. 2010 o/c like 2009, unlikely.
     
  6. iRobertM macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle WA.
    #6
    Something tells me Xeon chips with ECC ram were not really designed for over clocking. How many companies really have over clocked servers? I am willing to bet not many. If you have a fascination to over clock then PC's are for you.
     
  7. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #7
    Mm, I agree. Nehalem was so significant step from Core architecture including QPI and no FSB etc, so its unlikely that that tool would work
     
  8. Spanky Deluxe macrumors 601

    Spanky Deluxe

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    London, UK
    #8
    True although ECC can be quite nice for overclocking.

    Yeah and I don't think there's that big a demand for a Mac Pro overclocking tool. Shame.
     
  9. Greg Punzo macrumors member

    Greg Punzo

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    #9
    upgrade cpu in 2010 mac pro

    could you at least upgrade the processors later on? because i ordered a 12 core 2.66ghz in hopes that later i could upgrade it to the 2x3.33ghz
     
  10. Spanky Deluxe macrumors 601

    Spanky Deluxe

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    London, UK
    #10
    Yup, that shouldn't be a problem. As I said to someone else a few days ago, my guess is that such an upgrade would cost about $1000 in four year's time seeing as it currently costs about that much to upgrade a 2006 Quad core Mac Pro to a 3GHz Octo Mac Pro.
     
  11. iRobertM macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle WA.
    #11
    I am in the same boat as you, the only thing that has me worried is the 3.33 are 130W vs the 95W the 2.66 draw. Wonder if the power supply can handle it. This could be why you can't order dual 3.33 now.
     
  12. Greg Punzo macrumors member

    Greg Punzo

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    #12
    well at least you can always upgrade to the 2.93 chips when their a lot cheaper in a few years... but with all that hassle for only a 270mhz upgrade it might just be better to just buy a new mac pro, i guess it depends on how much the chips will be then.

    but wasn't the 3.33ghz Nehalem more watts then the 2.93ghz? because people are able to put 2x3.33ghz in the 2009 mac pro
     
  13. Spanky Deluxe macrumors 601

    Spanky Deluxe

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    London, UK
    #13
    The power supply is more than capable. 70W extra load is next to nothing - it's like putting an extra low end graphics card in.
     
  14. TheLOGICalone thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Location:
    Jersey
    #14
    Thanks for the info, too bad it would sure be nice to go past 3.6 for single threaded stuff, but I guess that's just being greedy...
     
  15. Tutor, Aug 10, 2010
    Last edited: Aug 28, 2011

Share This Page