Over Clocking Upgraded Mac Pro 1, 1?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by gybek, Nov 6, 2016.

  1. gybek macrumors newbie

    gybek

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2016
    #1
    Seems theres the zdnet application that doesn't run in El Capitan and I can't find anything else out there... so, what is the deal? My 2.66 quads are what they are?
     
  2. Flint Ironstag macrumors 6502a

    Flint Ironstag

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2013
    Location:
    Houston, TX USA
    #2
    I saw the thread title and came here to post the ZDNet recommendation. So... not sure what to tell you. That box was EOL in 2007, so I doubt anyone's been working on an overclocking utility lately, but I could be wrong. Sorry I couldn't help.
     
  3. orph macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    im fairly shore that app was not good, the clock speed (ie like date and time internal clock) of the mac was dependent on CPU speed so when you overclock you brake everything dependent on the internal mac clock.

    your best option is replace the cpu's & there super cheep to buy on ebay now ^^
    http://forums.macrumors.com/threads/mac-pro-cpu-compatibility-list.1954766/

    or hard mod the cpu's :S with tape to block pins i think
     
  4. CapnDavey macrumors 6502

    CapnDavey

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2015
    #4
    so you already upgraded to Clovertown CPU's ?
     
  5. orph macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    2.6ghz quads so he's on two X5355, still the option of 3ghz X5365.
    worth it for fun but not shore if it's relay a massive gain
     

Share This Page