overclock a 2 X 2.66ghz 6 core intel xeon

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by apolloh, Dec 15, 2010.

  1. apolloh macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    #1
    does anyone know if i can overclock this puppy to 2.9 or 3.0ghz ? :D
     
  2. vogelhausdesign macrumors regular

    vogelhausdesign

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Location:
    Columbus, Ohio
    #2
    If you read about that machine, it over clocks itself for CPU hungry tasks to 3.33MHz
     
  3. Umbongo macrumors 601

    Umbongo

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    England
  4. Vylen macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #4
    I'm not entirely sure, but isn't it simply cause server class boards for Xeon's don't allow (permit?) overclocking?
     
  5. UltraNEO* macrumors 601

    UltraNEO*

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    近畿日本
    #5
    Back in 2008 someone devised something called the ZDnet Clocker though it's on temporary. Dunno does it work with the newer macs.. but you can try!

    Let us know what happens
     
  6. strausd macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    Texas
    #6
    I'm guessing you mean GHz. And the 5670s are the ones that will TB up to 3.33, not the 5650s.
     
  7. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #7
    Unfortunately, you can't.

    No access to the firmware, nor is there a utility that works on the 2009/10 systems to make the changes needed for it to happen.

    But there are other boards you can do this (there are Workstation and Server boards, not just enthusiast/gaming boards).

    2006 to 2008, Yes, but not with 2009/10 systems.
     
  8. voyagerd macrumors 65816

    voyagerd

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Location:
    Rancho Cordova, CA
    #8
    It depends what motherboard you use and if it permits overclocking. I have dual 3.33GHz 6-core Xeons overclocked.
     
  9. bearcatrp macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Location:
    Boon Docks USA
    #9
    Are you using a SR2 board? How far do you have it overclocked?
     

Share This Page