Overclocking Power Mac G4 (AGP Graphics) 800MHz proccesor

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Supreme User, Oct 13, 2008.

  1. Supreme User macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    #1
    Does anyone know where I can find information on overclocking my Power Mac?
    Here are the specs:
    800MHz G4 Processor
    384 Megabytes SD Ram
    1 ATI 128 Rage Pro Graphics Card (16Mb V Ram)
    1 Western Digital 80 Gb HD
    Running Panther (overclocking to install Leopard)
    Update: Or is it even possible.
     
  2. TDM21 macrumors 6502a

    TDM21

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    #2
    While overclocking your Mac's processor is completely possible, it requires a lot more work then PCs. On the CPU daughter card is a small bank of surface mount resistors. These resistors set the clock multiplier (bus speed X multiplier = processor speed). The only way to change the multiplier is to change which resistors are on the board. Xlr8yourmac.com has more information about getting more speed out of processor.

    http://xlr8yourmac.com/systems.html#g4

    On a side note: There is a thread here in the Macrumors forums about editing the Leopard install DVD to bypass the system requirements.

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=371302

    Also based on your specs adding more RAM to your Mac and getting a better video card would really make it run better. 512MB sticks of SDRAM is down to ~$40 and you can look around to find a newer video card. both would be much easier then overclocking.
     
  3. Supreme User thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    #3
    do you know a good video card for me to upgrade to?
     
  4. OrangeSVTguy macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #4
    You can find 512mb sticks of pc133 for $10-20 a piece. ATI Radeon 9800 Pro is the best video card that you can get for the G4 macs. Get the 128mb as there really isn't much difference that and the 256mb version. You can find the PC versions for under $20 now a days and flash it yourself with a Mac rom.

    You will be better off finding a faster OEM processor, even a dual processor for around/under $50.
     
  5. Supreme User thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    #5
    could you direct me to a place that could tell me how?
    Also if I bought two of them them could would it support a dual monitor set up?
     
  6. TDM21 macrumors 6502a

    TDM21

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    #6
    The Mac Elite Wiki has the files and information for flashing PC cards for Macs. They used to have a forum, which contained a lot more information but it has since disappeared.

    http://themacelite.wikidot.com/

    The 9800 has a DVI and VGA output so you can hook two monitors up to it. Buying two cards wouldn't work because they use the AGP interface and your Mac only has one AGP slot.
     
  7. MagnusVonMagnum macrumors 601

    MagnusVonMagnum

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    #7
    If you don't want to try and flash one yourself (you have to have a PC hanging around and XP won't like you changing graphics cards... it'll make you re-register) so it's best to have a '98 machine hanging around or something), then there's a guy on eBay selling flashed 9800 Pros for around $99, which is a vast improvement over some of the people previously selling them for $150-200 (talk about a money maker). I bought one and it works fine.

    Your biggest problem with Leopard IS going to be the graphics card. I've got a 1.8GHz 7448 G4 upgrade with a 9800 Pro and and Tiger is STILL noticeably faster than Leopard, not mention many older games won't like Leopard and you lose the OS9 Classic mode (for even older games). I've kept Leopard up and it's quite usable now, but I still run Tiger on a daily basis. I have exactly ONE program that only runs in Leopard and that is Handbrake (and I generally use my PC for that anyway since it's way faster with two 2.8GHz Athlons in it). The need for Leopard is way overrated, IMO. About the only thing I like on it better than Tiger is Spaces and I hardly ever use it (even on my Linux machine which has Compiz and rotatable cube effect, I don't actually USE it much except to show off the 3D effects and Leopard doesn't even do anything cool like that with it).

    So until iTunes no longer gets updates for Leopard, I'll probably continu to run Tiger on this machine for daily use. I mostly use it for browsing/shopping (secure stuff) and to drive my whole house audio system (using multiple AppleTV units and iTunes8). But then, that's mostly what I use computes in general for (browsing, shopping and audio/video entertainment), which means my PC is mostly for gaming now and game development.
     
  8. MacUser2525 macrumors 68000

    MacUser2525

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #8
    Windows would never need to know you have changed the video card as the way you flash them is by using a DOS boot floppy disk and running the ATIFlash program you have already put on it along with the ROM file you will flash it with, in fact when I did it a couple of weeks ago the machine I used never even had a hard drive in it..

    Edit: I should also mention don't bother with a 9800 Pro if it will cost more than a 9700 Pro as the ROM's used when flashing a 9700 Pro are modified 9800 Pro ones so anyone flashing a 9700 Pro ends up with a 9800 Pro card like I did.
     
  9. MacUser2525 macrumors 68000

    MacUser2525

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #9
    You could always flash a PCI version if you find one then have two cards in the system that way.
     
  10. MagnusVonMagnum macrumors 601

    MagnusVonMagnum

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    #10
    Ah, I hadn't thought of that. Touche.

    I tried and have a 9700 Pro here. I could sell it if it someone wants it. It won't work with my Digital Audio (well it did for two weeks and then quit working; I got a replacement from the guy I bought it from and it still doesn't work; it seems the Digital Audio model doesn't like the 9600 chipset (known issue) and apparently it doesn't like the 9700 set either (never officially released for the PowerMac so never really tested except with flashed units). It works fine with the 9800 Pro, though. I figure if I ever get another used PowerMac, I'll get a non-Digital Audio and have a graphics upgrade ready. Otherwise, I might as well sell it.
     
  11. Supreme User thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    #11
    Thanks for all of the reply's, but with all of the work it seems I'm going to have to put into this project I think I'll just stick with Windows for a little longer than expected.

    - A Multiplatform user.
     
  12. Supreme User thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    #12
    While researching on the subject I found out that my processor in fact has no resistors so I guess there is no way to get this processor to go any faster... :mad::confused::eek::apple:
     

Share This Page