Overclocking the 8600GT in Vista? Help!

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by zepharus, Sep 24, 2007.

  1. zepharus macrumors 6502a

    zepharus

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    #1
    Im trying to overclock the 8600GTin Vista and going nowhere fast. I have the latest 163.69 drivers and Im using Laptop2go .inf to alter the drivers.

    I am trying rivatuner 2.04 and the newest atitool as well to no avail, as it simply resets to the preset speed

    Has anyone had any luck overclocking this 8600GT in Vista?


    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. m3the01 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    #2
    The >160 drivers are locked for overclocking.

    The default bootcamp driver will work though.


    Steven

    PS ditch vista and go back to xp pro, much faster and cleaner. Plus if your working with any programming the Nvidia cuda library works.
     
  3. zepharus thread starter macrumors 6502a

    zepharus

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    #3
    I hate vista too but Its a must going forward . Either way how are they locked? I overclock on my gaming system which is an 8800GTX in SLI with vista and the same drivers. Works fine..
     
  4. m3the01 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    #4
    Have u been to the nvidia forum's.

    I heard all the > 160 drivers were locked, i didnt confirm becuase i have a Quadro FX 5600 / 1.5gb frame buffer and a 8600m gt 256mb and they were both locked when using the > 160 drivers.

    On the regular bootcamp driver it worked fine.
     
  5. superspiffy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    #5
    I have the 169.47 drivers installed on Vista on my Penryn MBP. Like the OP, I can't overclock with ATI Tools. Are there any other programs that could work? Or do I have to rollback to the original boot camp drivers in order for me to OC the card to its intended settings.
     
  6. bmcgrath macrumors 65816

    bmcgrath

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Location:
    London, United Kingdom
    #6

    Well if your using ATI tools to overclock a nvidia card that just won't work will it?
     
  7. The Flashing Fi macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    #7
    I believe ATi tool still allows OCing with any video card. However, better success might be had with RivaTuner.
     
  8. wgilles macrumors 6502

    wgilles

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    #8
    If anyone has luck with Rivatuner, post it on here, I'd like to try it out
     
  9. superspiffy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    #9
    Tried it, it does not work like ATI Tool. I've tried it with 169.47, 167.63 (bootcamp driver) and 174.74 on Vista and they all can't change the clock/mem speeds.
     
  10. hooterchease macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    #10
    Superspiffy, what do you mean by "you can't oc" ??

    I have the exact same MBP as you (AWESOME btw) and I had issues overclocking with RivaTuner, and by issues I mean I used to set the clocks to higher values but it would always reset it to the default ones.

    I fixed this issue by using nTune which is also nice. Easy to use and provides a system monitor as well

    I'm using 174.74 (which gave me some improvement with Crysis w/o oc) btw but Let me know if it works.
     
  11. wgilles macrumors 6502

    wgilles

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    #11
    Where did you get 174.74 drivers? Link? Modified inf?
     
  12. weemanpow3 macrumors 6502

    weemanpow3

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #12
  13. hooterchease macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    #13
  14. hooterchease macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    #14
  15. hooterchease macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    #15
  16. ibd macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    #16
    171.16 + AtiTool + Win XP 32 worked for me, not sure if it could work with Vista, too.
     
  17. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #17
    I have been using PowerStrip for the past 8 years.
     
  18. beatledud macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 4, 2006
    #18
    Overclock MBP

    Did a brief search, if this has been thoroughly discussed on another thread, my apologies.

    I was wondering people's responses (aside from it's illegal, just don't do it people) in regards to overclocking the GPU on your Macbook Pro. I know the GPU is severly underclocked. Here is my system:

    November, 2006 MBP version:
    2.33 Intel
    2 GB SDRAM
    RadeonX1600 GPU 256 MB

    I have a couple questions regarding:
    -Is the underclocking due to heat or battery usage?
    -What are people's experience with heating issues after OC?
    -For the x1600, is there really that much performance upgrade?
    -The biggest thing I need it for is probably an assortment of Adobe products and Sketchup. I do AutoCAD in Bootcamp too, but I don't think that's maxing anything up.
     
  19. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #19
    There is a 2D clock (when running in desktop in XP) and a 3D base clock for running desktop in Vista and basic graphics. Then there is maximum clock, which is when the GPU clocks up when it's needed.
     
  20. hooterchease macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    #20
    Erratum

    After few extra days testing my OC, i am not sure why but nTune doesn't let me OC anymore....It's weird.

    So I replaced my 174.74 driver by the 169.04 which the one that works the most often by looking at people's experience in forums

    And it does. First crash for me at 620/850. I guess laptop crashing means OC working.....
     

Share This Page