Overclocking the 9400m Macbook Air

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by hybster, Jan 29, 2009.

  1. hybster macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    #1
    After seeing the post on hardmac on overclocking the unibody macbook, I have been experimenting on my mba :D
    http://www.hardmac.com/news/2009-01-26/#9497

    Stable overclock:
    CPU: 1.6ghz -> 1.86ghz at 0.925vcore, 1240mhz FSB (using RMClock to undervolt)
    GPU: 300/600mhz -> 450/900mhz

    So far it has proven pretty stable through 3dmark06 and some gaming, netting a 3dmark06 score of 2100 - putting it right on par with the stock macbook (see gizmodo). The fan is naturally at max rev.

    On a side note, rmclock shows one core throttling down while testing with prime95 at the stock voltage of 1.0v for 1.86ghz, while very rarely for 0.925v. This is a strong indication that the macbook air has a very limited cooling capacity (and that stock 1.86ghz machines without undervolting are crippled). :(

    And please don't reply with comments on the sanity of overclocking the mba.. ;)
     
  2. dehory macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
  3. Scottsdale macrumors 601

    Scottsdale

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    #3
    Experimenting leads to revolutionary ideas and new technologies. I congratulate you on your find and thank you for sharing. These MBAs are the most amazing Macs ever. I love reading about how people use their Macs, alter their Macs, and abuse their Macs. Keep up the good work and continue to share with us. Go MBA!
     
  4. Maven1975 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    #4
    Well, I have the opposite problem. I need to find a way to under clock the 9400m or FSB. nTunes and rivatuner are worthless on the Air. RMclock does not work under Windows 7 64.

    Install Windows 7 64. Games will fly like crazy, but it will overheat in about 10 minutes. I do not have a fan/cooling pad. This may do the trick to help with the heat.
     
  5. pellets007 macrumors 6502a

    pellets007

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Location:
    New York
    #5
    This would also affect the battery life though, right?:(
     
  6. EnderTW macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    #6
    This is one machine I don't think you really want to "overclock" heh. Believe me I am all for getting the most out of your machine, however, this is an ultra portable. :0
     
  7. akbc macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #7
    Wow, you sir, are very brave.

    Anyways, I guess for MB Air, It'd actually be really useful to underclock things..
     
  8. SummerBoy macrumors regular

    SummerBoy

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Location:
    Mars
    #8
    You guys call this 'brave' ??

    No it's stupid ! Overcoocking portable machine ???? For what !

    Less battery life, overheat and noisy fans, possibly decrease lifespan.

    And spellings, don't bother don't feel like fix g it
     
  9. AIRniloc macrumors regular

    AIRniloc

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Location:
    anozira
    #9
    i think overclocking my MBA for short periods of time would be an excellent tool in my toolbelt...there are a handful of times (not many) where i need a little bit more power for my baby :D

    keep up the good work, and let me know when / how i can do this WITHOUT installing windows on my precious ;)
     
  10. Maven1975 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    #10
    You can force the MBA to run @ 1.86 full time with cookbook
     
  11. hybster thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    #11
    This is meant only for gaming while using the charger :) The overclock itself probably does not hurt battery time much, as the cpu and gpu are still allowed to switch powerstates on demand.

    As for summerboy's outrage at my blatant recklessness: :p Read the OP :rolleyes:

    Going for a higher cpu overclock later today, max so far is 2014mhz at 1.0vcore (though one core is throttling down when they are both loaded by prime95) using a 1360 mhz FSB... screamer!
     
  12. hybster thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    #12
    You can force the mba to a single allowed powerstate (1.86ghz for an example), but the cpu will ignore this software-set state when it reaches a preset temperature. So if you load the cpu up, it will throttle to a lower frequency to maintain its set operation parameters. See also:
    http://www.macworld.com/article/138365/2009/01/macbook_air_1_6ghz.html

    From my (admittedly small) dataset, this suggests that anyone who bought a 1.86ghz ssd would in fact be better off with the 1.6ghz ssd.

    And don't get me started about coolbook, the author (magnus something) continues to piss people off.
     
  13. AIRniloc macrumors regular

    AIRniloc

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Location:
    anozira
    #13
    what can you push a 1.86 to with cookbook? :D

    also, where is a link to this cookbook you speak of?
     
  14. justit macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    #14
    That's what I also ran into:
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=611606

    With all the business I give him on these threads, he's a real pain :cool:
     
  15. djrobx macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    #15
    Why are you installing 64 bit? With 2GB of RAM there is very little benefit in doing so.
     
  16. Maven1975 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    #16
    I downloaded it for my MBA, MBP and MP. The MBA is the only one with these ram limits.
     

Share This Page