overclocking xeon x5355

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by spottycod, Dec 13, 2011.

  1. spottycod macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    #1
    Hi all, I'm a nooby switcher and i have a couple of questions I'm hoping some kind soul will help me with. :p

    I'm in the process of upgrading a mp1.1 to the x5355's. I'd love to go with the x5365's but they're beyond my budget.

    My questions are; is it possible to manipulate the multiplier in BIOS (sorry, dont know what that is in mac speak) from 8 to 9 to run th x5355 overclocked at 3.0Ghz?

    And has anyone done this sucessfully or do things get a bit hot and a bit flakey? Or even will I fry my x5355's?

    Thanks in advance, Spotty :apple:
     
  2. Cindori macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
  3. G4DP macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    #3
    The only thinkg you can do is search for the ZDnet overclocking tool. It works, but it messes with the system clock. As all it does it speed the whole system up.
     
  4. Pressure macrumors 68040

    Pressure

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Location:
    Denmark
    #4
    You would have to install Leopard on a partition, boot up in Leopard and then reboot into Lion or Snow Leopard afterwards.

    Simply not worth it.
     
  5. peabo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    #5
    Are you sure about that? ZDNet Clock runs fine in Lion for me
     
  6. spottycod thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    #6
    Thanks to all, I'll check out the zdnet oc tool.

    spotty
     
  7. spottycod thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    #7
    New Xeon x5355 (2.66ghz) cheap (?) on ebay

    I just got my pair of Xeon x5355's (2.66ghz) on ebay.com

    Paid $130 each for brand new ones, seems cheap enough. Cheapest I could find for the x5365 (3ghz) was a second hand pair for 700 bucks plus 60 delivery! I also got 16gb (8x2gb) ram, airport express 'n' and bluetooth 2.0 cards new on ebay, also a new bluray burner, and settled on an Nvidia GTX285 896mb factory OC'd made by BFG for my video card.

    So got some work ahead when it all arrives. Probably crazy to do all this (have spent 1850 US$ including the mac) to a mp1,1 but it should be fun and a good way to learn about macs, by jumping in at the deep end. I've been tinkering with computers since i got my first Vic-20 :eek: but this is my first time tinkering with mac! (actually i'm pretty excited about it, cant wait, like a little kid on Christmas morn, ha!)

    Any advice other than the 10 inch 3mm hex key? (already got one of those)

    Thanks so much!, Spotty :apple:
     
  8. Pressure macrumors 68040

    Pressure

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Location:
    Denmark
    #8
    You are right, they updated it but it keeps saying my Mac Pro is not supported.
     
  9. Pressure macrumors 68040

    Pressure

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Location:
    Denmark
    #9
    So, anyone able to get this running in Lion yet?
     

Share This Page