Overheating Memory Module A1?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by zero9ine, Nov 5, 2007.

  1. zero9ine macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #1
    I recently (a week or more ago) bought 4gb (x2 2GB sticks) Crucial ram to upgrade my Mac Pro - these look exactly the same as the Apple ones just with a Crucial sticker.

    I put the 2gb sticks in A1 and A2 slots and A3, A4, B1 and B2 the original 4x 512mb sticks I got from Apple on the initial purchase.

    Are these temps normal, I haven't noticed any problems from the time of installing the memory to now and System Profiler reports everything is OK:

    Temperature Monitor:
    2007-11-06 10:46:28 +0900

    Ambient Air: 23.0℃
    CPU A Heatsink: 27.0℃
    CPU B Heatsink: 28.0℃
    Expansion Slots: 31.0℃
    Hard Drive Bay 1: 26.0℃
    Hard Drive Bay 2: 26.0℃
    Hard Drive Bay 3: 25.0℃
    Hard Drive Bay 4: 26.0℃
    Memory Bank A Point 1: 32.0℃
    Memory Bank A Point 2: 38.0℃
    Memory Bank A Point 3: 39.0℃
    Memory Bank B Point 1: 31.0℃
    Memory Bank B Point 2: 34.0℃
    Memory Bank B Point 3: 33.0℃
    Memory Module A1: 80.0℃ <-- Concern?
    Memory Module A2: 53.0℃
    Memory Module A3: 50.0℃
    Memory Module A4: 47.0℃
    Memory Module B1: 49.0℃
    Memory Module B2: 51.0℃
    Northbridge Heat Sink: 58.0℃
    Power Supply Location 1: 34.0℃
    Power Supply Location 2: 38.0℃
    SMART Disk ST3160812AS P (4LS4CJ4Q): 34.0℃
    CPU Core 1: 30.0℃
    CPU Core 2: 32.0℃
    CPU Core 3: 30.0℃
    CPU Core 4: 32.0℃

    Thanks for the Feedback.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Sweetfeld28 macrumors 65816

    Sweetfeld28

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2003
    Location:
    Buckeye Country, O-H
    #2
    Shooot. I would be worried.


    I would also call Crucial, as they should have lifetime warrenties on their RAM, most places do.

    Good Luck.
     
  3. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #3
    Swap A1 and A2 to see if it the problem follows the module, or stays with the slot.

    By the way, the correct installation would be

    A1- 2 Gb
    A2- 2 Gb

    B1- 2 Gb
    B2- 2 Gb

    A3- 512
    A4 -512

    Part of the problem with the FBDIMM implementation is that all access to A3 and A4 have to first go through A1 and A2 and are processed by the management chips physically on the A1 and A2 FB-DIMMs.

    So if you have 44% of your memory in A3 and A4, then you are loading down the A1 and A2 FB-DIMMs unnecessarily, which may be contributing to the overheating. Plus, the latency on the slots 3 and 4 is terrible, so the more time you spend accessing these slots, the slower your machine is.
     
  4. zero9ine thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #4
    Ok I'll try to swap the sticks around between A1 / A2, I was thinking of doing that and seeing if it follows.

    I only have 6 GB total in the machine, as mentioned 2x 2gb sticks and 4x 512's

    How can I lay those out?

    A1 - 2gb
    A2 - 2gb

    B1 - 512mb
    B2 - 512mb
    B3 - 512mb
    B4 - 512mb

    as I have according to the manual is to setup like below:

    A1 - 2gb
    A2 - 2gb
    A3 - 512mb
    A4 - 512mb

    B1 - 512mb
    B2 - 512mb

    Thanks for the replies again.
     
  5. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #5
    OK, I misread the original post. Option 2 above is the standard way of doing it, I would be curious whether the temps drop on A1 if you redo it as Option 1 with nothing 'above' the 2 Gb modules.
     
  6. zero9ine thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #6
    Ok thanks.

    I'll move the memory as you suggest:

    A1 - 2gb
    A2 - 2gb

    B1 - 512mb
    B2 - 512mb
    B3 - 512mb
    B4 - 512mb

    Then if no change ill swap A1 and A2 first see if the temp stays in that spot or changes to A2.

    I'll report the changes here.
     
  7. zero9ine thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #7
    OK.
    I changed the 2x 512's in A3 and A4 into B3 and B4 and the heat is as follows when I booted up and idled:

    2007-11-06 12:07:13 +0900

    Ambient Air: 23.0℃
    CPU A Heatsink: 28.0℃
    CPU B Heatsink: 28.0℃
    Expansion Slots: 30.0℃
    Hard Drive Bay 1: 25.0℃
    Hard Drive Bay 2: 25.0℃
    Hard Drive Bay 3: 25.0℃
    Hard Drive Bay 4: 25.0℃
    Memory Bank A Point 1: 29.0℃
    Memory Bank A Point 2: 30.0℃
    Memory Bank A Point 3: 30.0℃
    Memory Bank B Point 1: 30.0℃
    Memory Bank B Point 2: 32.0℃
    Memory Bank B Point 3: 35.0℃
    Memory Module A1: 64.0℃
    Memory Module A2: 40.0℃
    Memory Module B1: 49.0℃
    Memory Module B2: 51.0℃
    Northbridge Heat Sink: 51.0℃
    Power Supply Location 1: 30.0℃
    Power Supply Location 2: 33.0℃
    SMART Disk ST3160812AS P (4LS4CJ4Q): 32.0℃
    CPU Core 1: 30.0℃
    CPU Core 2: 33.0℃
    CPU Core 3: 31.0℃
    CPU Core 4: 33.0℃
    Memory Module B3: 44.0℃
    Memory Module B4: 42.0℃

    then the Memory Module A1 started to increase up to 69-78 degrees Celsius.

    2007-11-06 12:29:46 +0900

    Ambient Air: 23.0℃
    CPU A Heatsink: 28.0℃
    CPU B Heatsink: 30.0℃
    Expansion Slots: 33.0℃
    Hard Drive Bay 1: 26.0℃
    Hard Drive Bay 2: 26.0℃
    Hard Drive Bay 3: 25.0℃
    Hard Drive Bay 4: 26.0℃
    Memory Bank A Point 1: 35.0℃
    Memory Bank A Point 2: 39.0℃
    Memory Bank A Point 3: 35.0℃
    Memory Bank B Point 1: 36.0℃
    Memory Bank B Point 2: 42.0℃
    Memory Bank B Point 3: 44.0℃
    Memory Module A1: 78.0℃
    Memory Module A2: 51.0℃
    Memory Module B1: 62.0℃
    Memory Module B2: 65.0℃
    Northbridge Heat Sink: 66.0℃
    Power Supply Location 1: 34.0℃
    Power Supply Location 2: 37.0℃
    SMART Disk ST3160812AS P (4LS4CJ4Q): 34.0℃
    CPU Core 1: 32.0℃
    CPU Core 2: 34.0℃
    CPU Core 3: 31.0℃
    CPU Core 4: 33.0℃
    Memory Module B3: 55.0℃
    Memory Module B4: 54.0℃

    I presume loading the browser, mail, itunes and adium would add some load to it? i just put it back to what I was doing prior to reporting the heat increase.

    Also I noticed when pulling out the Ram risers the A1 slot seems to sit near a heatsink?
     
  8. zero9ine thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #8
    Hmm..
    Swapped A1 and A2 around and seems the high temps did follow the memory stick.

    2007-11-06 13:01:20 +0900

    Ambient Air: 23.0℃
    CPU A Heatsink: 28.0℃
    CPU B Heatsink: 30.0℃
    Expansion Slots: 33.0℃
    Hard Drive Bay 1: 26.0℃
    Hard Drive Bay 2: 26.0℃
    Hard Drive Bay 3: 26.0℃
    Hard Drive Bay 4: 26.0℃
    Memory Bank A Point 1: 34.0℃
    Memory Bank A Point 2: 37.0℃
    Memory Bank A Point 3: 35.0℃
    Memory Bank B Point 1: 35.0℃
    Memory Bank B Point 2: 40.0℃
    Memory Bank B Point 3: 43.0℃
    Memory Module A1: 49.0℃
    Memory Module A2: 75.0℃
    Memory Module B1: 59.0℃
    Memory Module B2: 63.0℃
    Northbridge Heat Sink: 64.0℃
    Power Supply Location 1: 34.0℃
    Power Supply Location 2: 37.0℃
    SMART Disk ST3160812AS P (4LS4CJ4Q): 34.0℃
    CPU Core 1: 31.0℃
    CPU Core 2: 33.0℃
    CPU Core 3: 31.0℃
    CPU Core 4: 33.0℃
    Memory Module B3: 54.0℃
    Memory Module B4: 52.0℃

    While a little bit cooler than 80degC still seems high I gather?
     
  9. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #9
    I would say then you should get a replacement pair from Crucial
     
  10. zero9ine thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #10
    Thanks, I've emailed them and shall go from there to solve and replace them if need be.

    Thanks, for all the help.
     

Share This Page