Overwriting gps location

Discussion in 'iOS Programming' started by DennisBlah, Jul 14, 2016.

  1. DennisBlah macrumors 6502

    DennisBlah

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2013
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #1
    Hi all,

    is it possible to overwrite my GPS location?
    Something like, Debug -> Simulate location
    But then from inside the app itself?

    If an private api might work, can someone please point it out?

    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. albebaubles macrumors regular

    albebaubles

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Location:
    Desert Southwest
    #2
    Are you trying to modify the GPS position as reported to all apps? Definitely not something Apple is going to allow public frameworks. If you want this for your own app, simply report any gps position you like. ;)
     
  3. DennisBlah thread starter macrumors 6502

    DennisBlah

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2013
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #3
    Hi Albebaubles,

    I don't want it to the appstore, I'd like this function for myself without the need of a jailbreak.
    How can I report the GPS location without the need of xcode?
     
  4. AxoNeuron macrumors 65816

    AxoNeuron

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Location:
    The Left Coast
    #4
    It is absolutely not possible without a jailbreak.
     
  5. DennisBlah thread starter macrumors 6502

    DennisBlah

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2013
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #5
    i'm sure its something small
    it is possible without jailbreak.
    There are apps for ingress as example
    That I can sign with my own account and install, which on its turn overrides the real gps with fake/simulated coordinates
     
  6. albebaubles macrumors regular

    albebaubles

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Location:
    Desert Southwest
    #6
    Subclass cllocation and override latitude/longitude properties? This will only work for your app. Hope that helps.
     
  7. AxoNeuron macrumors 65816

    AxoNeuron

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Location:
    The Left Coast
    #7
    Dude...I'm telling you...this is definitely NOT possible without a jailbreak. It's as simple as that. This isn't just 'something small', it's a major security restriction of iOS, and the only way to alter your GPS location (which provides GPS data to apps via CLLocationManager) is via a jailbreak.
     
  8. DennisBlah thread starter macrumors 6502

    DennisBlah

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2013
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #8
    I'm gonna give it try :) thaknks!
     
  9. AxoNeuron macrumors 65816

    AxoNeuron

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Location:
    The Left Coast
    #9
    If you are just doing this for your own app, you can just input the lat/long coordinates without needing to subclass anything. Just use it as your pretend data.

    But keep in mind this would ONLY be for your app, it will have zero effects on other apps.
     
  10. DennisBlah thread starter macrumors 6502

    DennisBlah

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2013
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #10
    Just using it for scamming some people ;)
    using facebook twitter etc integration it does pick up these coordinates ;)
    thanks!
     
  11. baypharm macrumors 65816

    baypharm

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    #11
    What you are asking used to be available on Android (Google) phones. Then "they" decided to put an an end to it with an update. After some messing around with their code, we were able to change it back. It is not easy to do although I can tell you that it is possible. So I would assume the same with IOS although we never tried to reassemble that part of the code.
     

Share This Page