OWC 16GB Ram in MBP 17'' 2011 tested/ working?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by MBX, Apr 19, 2011.

  1. MBX macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    #1
  2. mulo macrumors 68020

    mulo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Location:
    Behind you
    #2
    it works, and several have posted it working.
     
  3. technopimp macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2009
    #3
    Wow...$1600? I guess it's worth it if you absolutely need 16GB, but I just put 8GB in my 2011 MBP for $70. I'd almost say if you HAVE to have 16GB put that money into a Mac Pro where you can upgrade the RAM with a lot less expense (4x4 or 6x4 or something).
     
  4. MBX thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    #4
    Uhm, yes i like 16gb in my laptop and i don't care about the price. For me it's worth it. I like mobility more than getting a MacPro which i can't take with me on the road.
     
  5. technopimp macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2009
    #5
    Sorry don't know how this posted twice. And like I said, if you need it then go for it.
     
  6. mercman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    #6
    I purchased my 16 GB from Ramjet. I believe both Ramjet and OWC are using the same Samsung modules. It works very well in my 2.3GHz 2011 MacBook Pro 17". I also recently installed a Vertex 3 240 GB SSD.

    This is a great computer!

    Some of us have needs for this much memory making this a useful purchase.
     
  7. MBX thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    #7
    Sweet man!

    I'm also getting the Micron 512GB SSD! I heard it's one of the fastest out there (2x as fast as Apple's)
     
  8. magic9cube macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011
    #8
    RAM must have come down in price a bit.. i'm about to order 2x8gb for $110 each - supplier has marked them for use specifically in the mbp (corsair micro brand). It may be a lot slower than the OWC stuff but for 220$ i'll take it! ;-)
     
  9. stefmesman macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #9
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_3 like Mac OS X; nl-nl) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8J2 Safari/6533.18.5)

    What kind of ram is that?
     
  10. Orlandoech macrumors 68040

    Orlandoech

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
  11. jayhawk11 macrumors 6502a

    jayhawk11

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    #11
    You get what you pay for. $220 is way, way too cheap. Something smells fishy there.
     
  12. MH01 macrumors G4

    MH01

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    #12
    What needs 16GB of Ram that will not be bottlenecked by the GPU/CPU in the MBP? You not going to use a MBP as a server etc??
     
  13. DisMyMac macrumors 65816

    DisMyMac

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    #13
  14. stefmesman macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #14
    yes it can, apple just doesnt sell 8gb sticks,wich by the way are insanely expensive and not worth it for 99% of all mbp users
     
  15. xxBURT0Nxx macrumors 68020

    xxBURT0Nxx

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    #15
    It works, but be careful about posting that you are going to do it.

    You will get a flood of ravish haters who will tell you you're a retard for spending so much money on such a useless upgrade, and that there is no way you will ever need 16gb of ram, and that you're just spending your money to be a spec whore!;)

    Don't say I didn't warn you :p
     
  16. legreve macrumors regular

    legreve

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Location:
    Denmark
    #16
  17. bniu macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    #17
    it's likely a 4 x 4GB set. Some alienware laptops have 4 slots, and it can also be used for the iMac.
     
  18. Mobius 1 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Location:
    USEA
  19. Pentad macrumors 6502a

    Pentad

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
    Location:
    Indiana
    #19
    Sadly, this is true. Things you'll get slack for:

    Buying the i7 vs the i5 CPU
    Buying the fastest model of CPU
    Buying the high-end GPU
    Buying 8 GB (not so much) or 16 GB of memory
    Buying a Disk Defrag Application

    I swear to God that people here rival conspiracy sites!

    "16 GB of Memory!?! Why 4 GB should be enough for any Mac User!"

    "The i7 is a gimmick by Intel and Martians to get you to waste your money!"

    "Purchasing 1 GB of Video Memory is a known trait of a terrorist! A TERRORIST!"


    I'm always amazed at the amount of people who think they know what I should buy for myself without knowing what I do or what I'm going to use my MBP for.

    I'm also amazed at the amount of people who talk about technology, yet, have no idea how it really works. I teach CS and I pray that some of the posts here do not come from any student of mine.

    Apple can do no wrong and Microsoft can do no right.

    Finally, if the poster doesn't need it than there is no way in hell you could possible have a use for it thereby making you and idiot AND a troll...


    -P
     
  20. ViviUO macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2009
    #20
    I'm pretty sure one of the reasons people who seem "jelous" of 16GB of RAM are only wondering why 16GB of RAM is currently needed in a MBP, when the RAM costs as much as the computer.

    Additionally, I don't recall those with 16GB of RAM ever telling us why they need that much memory on a non-workstation machine. I think examples of how the memory is being used will subdue the nay sayers.

    On a personal note, even if I did need that much memory, I think I would wait a year when it will most likely be less than half the price it is today. But this thread isn't about me.

    I guess all I am asking for is an example how to that large amount of RAM will be utilized. :)
     
  21. xxBURT0Nxx macrumors 68020

    xxBURT0Nxx

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    #21
    people have said it multiple times,.....

    Lets say, for example, I run a lot of virtual machines on my laptop. If I want to run 4 VM's and allocate 4gb of ram to each one, I need 16gb of ram.

    Maybe I create very large posters in PS at 300dpi, and I want to listen to iTunes, have a chat client open, maybe surfing the net with a few tabs open, my email client, calendar, and twitter open. more ram means all of my programs will remain stable and responsive.

    Also, maybe people aren't using all 16gb, but maybe they need 9 or 10 or 11 or 12.... well the only way to get more than 8 is with 16gb of ram (two 8gb sticks)
     
  22. mitchelljohnson macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011
    #22
    "well the only way to get more than 8 is with 16gb of ram (two 8gb sticks)"

    Don't they make 6gb sticks?
     
  23. xxBURT0Nxx macrumors 68020

    xxBURT0Nxx

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    #23
    I have never seen a 6gb ram stick....

    you can get 6gb with 3 - 2gb sticks, however macbook pros only have two SO-DIMM slots, not three.
     
  24. eUnique macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2011
    #24
    Why wouldn't a 8GB and 4GB work?
     
  25. xxBURT0Nxx macrumors 68020

    xxBURT0Nxx

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    #25
    i suppose it would, but you're supposed to use the same ram in both slots. There are people who have had success mixing and matching, but it's not really recommended.
     

Share This Page