OWC Bad Experience

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Yousef81, Jun 6, 2008.

1. Yousef81 macrumors newbie

Hi,

I am a new Mac user from United Arab Emirates (Dubai), recently I have ordered Mac Pro 2.8 8800GT and it should arrive in few weeks.
    As a heavy graphics designer I need more memory, I've read here so many good review about OWC so I ordered 12GB of RAM with my UAE credit card with UAE billing address and US shipping address ( i have a US address forwarded to my home town) and as soon as i hit submit i received sms saying that the amount were approved by the bank.
    Next day I received an email from OWC saying that they need a scanned copy of my visa credit card!!!they did not mention that on their website!!! do they realize that sending a scanned copy of a credit card is extremely high risk no bank recommend.

anyway, now i have a blocked 526$ for minimum 60 days. :(

Is there any alternatives do not do the above? :confused:

2. gikku macrumors regular

gikku

This is a common practice for US retailers selling internationally as they cannot confirm your billing address from your non-US card issuer. Just fax a copy to them, risk is minimal and it's at the bank's liability in any case, not yours.

(As an aside, I cannot believe bank's in the US provide a card holder's billing address to a merchant, there are serious privacy issues there.)

3. Yousef81 thread starter macrumors newbie

I did that once and the copy was stolen and used!! u see there is a risk

4. krye macrumors 68000

krye