OWC Mercury Elite-AL Pro Qx2

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by wchang, Dec 1, 2010.

1. wchang macrumors newbie

Hi,

I'm in the market for a raid external hard drive solution. I do not need a NAS external drive. I am a photographer looking to store my photos on a large drive that has raid 5 or 10. I came across the OWC Mercury Elite-AL Pro Qx2 and would like your feedback on this unit. Should I go with this setup or something else? I am looking to get the 8TB version setup on eSata with my iMac 27 modded with eSata.

http://eshop.macsales.com/item/Other World Computing/MEQX2T8.0S/

Please let me know if this is a good solution to go with or should I go with a different brand and setup?

2. al2o3cr macrumors regular

I've got the 4TB model and haven't had any problems with it (only had it a few months). I'm using it via FW800 and it can totally saturate that bus (80+MB/s transfer) so I suspect it might do even better via eSATA.

Some notes:

- I was somewhat shocked by how LARGE the box is. The pictures didn't do the depth justice; it positively dwarfs my other externals. It's also pretty heavy, but an all-metal chassis will do that...

- When operating, it can be a little noisy. Not OWC's fault, but it's (again) a little surprising to go from hearing the mechanical noise of a lone 2.5" HDD inside a laptop to 4x 3.5" HDDs in a well-vented enclosure.

I wouldn't describe either of the above as a "problem", but worth knowing in case you're expecting a tiny, silent, lightweight box that you can toss in your camera bag. :)

3. wchang thread starter macrumors newbie

Thanks for the info! I appreciate it!

Do you happen to have a picture of your setup? I would like to see it looks like.

4. al2o3cr macrumors regular