OWC RAM Question

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by strausd, May 30, 2010.

  1. strausd macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    Texas
    #1
    I have heard that you cannot use both Apple RAM and OWC RAM at the same time in the same computer. So if I were to have two 4GB Apple sticks and two 4GB OWC sticks installed in a Mac Pro, what would happen? I am mainly asking because their 4GB sticks are much cheaper than Crucials. Thanks!
     
  2. calderone macrumors 68040

    calderone

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle
  3. ithinkitsnice macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    #3

    http://eshop.macsales.com/item/Other World Computing/8566D3MPE4GB/

     
  4. strausd thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    Texas
  5. ithinkitsnice macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    #5
    OWC is the only retailer I've ever seen that from. I noticed it when buying from them last week. Never visited their site before so I've no idea how long they've been saying that.
     
  6. Apple Corps macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #6
    Crucial ram prices are now absurd - toss or sell the Apple ram and load up with OWC - way more ram for the $$

    I just loaded four 4GB OWC modules and have the Apple modules stored in the closet.
     
  7. ValSalva macrumors 68040

    ValSalva

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Location:
    Burpelson AFB
    #7
    I've seen this before at OWC. I'm not sure why either. If the memory works in the Mac Pro, i.e. it is ECC and the correct speed and frequency then they should all work together even if the latencies are different. Maybe OWC is trying to limit its support costs by eliminating any possibility of mixing different and incompatible RAM modules as being a problem.
     
  8. Apple Corps macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #8
    ValSalva - that could be - but with only 4 slots in my new Quad I had to simply dump the pathetic 1 GB modules and load up.
     
  9. ithinkitsnice macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    #9
    In the UK it would be illegal to make a claim like that if it weren't true and I'd be surprised if there wasn't an equivalent law in the US(?). It would be totally unethical anyway.

    I'll assume the claim correct because they'd have to be massively stupid if it wasn't.
     
  10. yezza macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    #10
    I have 8GB of OWC and the original 2GB of Apple ram in my 2008 Mac Pro and it works perfectly fine.
     
  11. ithinkitsnice macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    #11
  12. calderone macrumors 68040

    calderone

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle
    #12
  13. strausd thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    Texas
    #13
    So when the next mac pro comes out, I plan on getting dual hexas. Should i not upgrade the RAM at all and buy only OWC and just put the 1GB modules in my closet too?
     
  14. Shademaster macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    #14
    No problems here, had 4GB of Apple ram preinstalled and added 8GB of OWC ram later. No problems at all :) .

    Running a MacPro 3.1 with 8cores running at 3.00.
     
  15. CCK macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Location:
    KY
    #15
    Owc will buy your old ram, They gave me $70 for 2x2 Gbs out of my 09.
     
  16. calderone macrumors 68040

    calderone

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle
    #16
    This assumes the same limitation will be there. Without knowing exactly why, we can't say whether the next Mac Pro will be the same in that regard.
     
  17. strausd thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    Texas
    #17
    Well even if there are no limitations on the next one, I think I'll still buy OWC because of upgrading.
     
  18. calderone macrumors 68040

    calderone

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle
    #18
    I have read this a few times and don't know what you are saying.

    If there are no limitations on matching sets for sticks 4GB+ you could leave the Apple RAM in and use the OWC RAM.

    The original question was inquiry about mixing RAM, not whether or not you should buy from Apple or OWC.
     
  19. calderone macrumors 68040

    calderone

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle
    #19
    OWC tech support was out til today. Here is the answer from them:

     

Share This Page