Packet Loss with Netgear Gigabit Switch

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by bilbo--baggins, May 15, 2010.

  1. bilbo--baggins macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    I've recently had problems with an iMac connecting to the internet, and solved it by unplugging the network cable and using Airport. Looking further, I'm wondering if this has been the cause of some of my longstanding Apple TV issues.

    I'm getting around 10% packet loss for devices connected via a Netgear GS605 5 port Gigabit Switch. For example, our HP printer gets 0 packet loss when connected via the Airport Extreme, and 3% via the switch (on repeated testing).

    Is this 'normal' for an unmanaged switch, or could it be developing a fault? Could this small amount of packet loss be causing noticeable disruption to users?

    The set up is:

    ADSL modem---Airport Extreme---Gigabit switch----iMac/Printer/Apple TV.

    Note, my Mac Pro is connected directly to the Airport Extreme and never has any issues.

    Should I be fine buying another unmanaged switch, or would I find the same packet loss?

    Iy might be that there is an intermittent bad connection causing the noticeable disruptions, and the packet loss is incidental?
     
  2. calderone macrumors 68040

    calderone

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle
    #2
    This is not typical in my experience.

    I have two D-Link unmanaged switches, the DGS-2208. No packet loss. Three possibilities:

    1. Bad Cable
    2. Bad port on the Airport
    3. Bad Switch

    Try to rule out the first two, if it is the switch and it is under warranty I would consider getting it replaced.
     
  3. bilbo--baggins thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    Thanks.

    I suspect it's a bad switch. Ran a ping test (100 pings) for our HP printer that was plugged into the switch, and got 3% packet loss. Unplugged it from the switch and plugged the same cable into the Airport (using the same port as the switch had been plugged into) and got 0% packet loss.

    The only conclusion I can come to is that the switch is the only common factor. So far never found packet loss for things directly connected to Airport, and always packet loss for things connected to the switch - and as with the above test, using the same cables etc.

    The switch is out of warranty, and was only a cheap one (£22 I think). Just considering whether to buy another cheap one, or go for something better quality such as the new GS108T-200 (though this doesn't seem to be available in the UK yet).
     
  4. calderone macrumors 68040

    calderone

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle
    #4
    "Cheap" isn't necessarily bad. My D-Link switches were like $20 and they have been chugging along for a year. They are under load quite often as well.

    The GS108T-200 is actually a smart switch, so it has some of the features of a managed switch. It looks nice though, doesn't seem to be available here in the States yet either.

    Honestly, unless you need the features of the smart switch, I would stick with the typical gigabit switches. Look for the ones with good reviews.
     
  5. bilbo--baggins thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    Thanks. I was looking into your suggestion of the D-link but it seems that model isn't available in the UK for some reason.

    We use Skype and was considering a smart switch in case it helped maintain call quality. However, I'm not entirely sure this would help as the Airport Extreme (latest version) doesn't appear to support QoS. I liked the idea of the green credentials of the newer switches, but keep going round in circles because of certain models being on manufacturer web sites then finding they're not available for sale in the UK...

    The nearest switch to the one you mentioned, that is available in the UK is the DGS-1008D. Very strangely, the US site says it was discontinued in 2006.
     
  6. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #6
    Never had a problem with my 605. Try another one and retire the current one to somewhere that the packet loss is not important (or sell it on MacRumors). You are correct, Airport Extremes do not support QoS.
     
  7. bilbo--baggins thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    Update: I bought a D-link DGS-1008D, and all devices now connected with 0% packet loss. The old Netgear GS605 v2 is going in the bin (er, 'trash'), presumably it's dying.
     
  8. occamsrazor macrumors 6502

    occamsrazor

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    #8
    (somewhat off-topic)

    The GS108T-200 (aka GS108Tv2) seems to be a really sweet switch, although most people will not need the features of a managed switch.

    FYI... the UK model number is GS108T-200UKS, though as others say it doesn't seem to be available yet. If someone finds somewhere that does have it in the UK, let us all know please.

    Product page - http://www.netgear.com/Products/Switches/SmartSwitches/GS108T-200.aspx
    Differences between v1 and v2 - http://kb.netgear.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/13598/
     

Share This Page