padding something right with html and css?

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by lofight, Jun 27, 2008.

1. lofight macrumors 68000

lofight

I'm working on a website. And on one page -location- there's got to be a map from google maps. Now I put the code from the google map on the html between the footer div's because when I used it with a new one, or between something like contentarea, the rest of the text from the site dissapeared.. And because I had nothing else in the footer.

Then, in css, I coded the footer so that the google maps frame came in the right place which should be, 110px from the left, and 125px from the top, and it is 350 px x 350px, the frame.

So this is my css code :
    Code:
    #footer {
    width:350px;
    height:350px;
    padding-left:110px;
    padding-top:125px;
    }
    And when I try previewing it in the browser I get this :
    [​IMG]

I've just started too know html and css, so I'm a complete noob.

2. angelwatt Moderator emeritus

angelwatt

I didn't see any picture for where you mention what you're seeing. An idea though, You have width/height set to 350, which I believe you're saying is the frame's dimensions, but you also have padding set. An elements "real" width is width plus padding, so in your case the frame is only getting 350-110 pixels of width to fit in, and same for height. This is likely the issue.

Edit: Needing to add clarity for my above statements. #footer is set to 350, but with padding of 110 on the left the footer will have a total width of 460. Not completely sure if OP is wanting that full width or not.

3. lofight thread starter macrumors 68000

lofight

oh, really? I didn't know that. I'll try that and see.. I tried and it's even worse.. (see picture)

Attached Files:

4. angelwatt Moderator emeritus

angelwatt

Could you post a snippet of HTML from where the frame (the frame and its parent tag at least) is at and also any changes you've made to the CSS?