Page outs 23GB, Swap used 42GB!?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by hoggidoggi, May 30, 2013.

  1. hoggidoggi macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 30, 2013
    #1
    Hi,

    I have an iMac running on snow leopard. I recently upgraded the RAM to 4GB because it was running crazy slow.

    Now that I have upgraded it, it has made no difference. On activity monitor, my free memory is virtually nothing only 8MB, and my swap used is 42GB!!!!!! and my page outs is 23GB!!!!!

    what the hell? Why is it so high?...

    I do have quite a few programs that run, but there are only like 3. Two email client softwares and spotify.

    Help?
     
  2. justperry, May 30, 2013
    Last edited: May 30, 2013

    justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #2
    Make a screenshot like the one below, post here, (Command-Shift-4, hit SpaceBar, then click on Window)

    So we can have a look at any runaway processes.
     
  3. hoggidoggi thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 30, 2013
    #3
    Here you go. Its increased a little.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #4
    That's only the Memory, I actually want to see the processes which uses the most memory, you have to click on the Memory tab (Once or twice) to see which programs use most memory.

    Edit: Make two, one of most real Memory and one of most virtual memory.
     
  5. hoggidoggi thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 30, 2013
    #5
    Sorry. My wife rebooted the iMac, so the page outs and swap used were resetted.

    Here is what it is now, 10 mins after reboot.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. marzer macrumors 65816

    marzer

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Location:
    Colorado
    #6
    From the screen shot you actually have over 1.07GB of available memory. Available memory is actually equal to Free Mem + Inactive Mem. So from that shot, I'd guess you may have had surge period where you're memory use exceeded RAM for some time then dropped back below 4GB when you returned to a more routine app useage.

    Do you have any large tasks you perform on occassion? Perhaps professional apps or databases, gaming or media creation/manipulation?
     
  7. DLary macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    #7
    Do a search for "spotify memory leak". It looks like this is a problem for other spotify users.
     
  8. justperry, May 30, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: May 30, 2013

    justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #8
    Just restarted and it is already F..up.

    Look at the below screenshots, yours are way too hight.
    Spotify I can understand, but LoginWindow, SystemUiServer and UserEventAgent takes up a huge chunk of memory.

    The reason, we have to find out.

    Not only spotify, but he clearly has memory leak(s).
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page