Pages '09 and opening MS Word files from a USB stick

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by jeffreyk, Jan 24, 2009.

1. jeffreyk macrumors regular

jeffreyk

Up until yesterday I was solely a Windows/PC-based computer user. I am now running Mac OS X with my new Mac Pro. Before turning off my PC system, hopefully forever, I downloaded all my MS Word files to a USB stick. I'm a writer and only worked in MS Word for my work.

I just purchased iWork '09 and am very impressed with the Pages App and I'm very excited to start working in Pages '09.

So...when I insert my USB stick with all my Word Docs on it into my Mac Pro, is it a case like under Windows/XP where you just open up each file with the Pages '09 program or is there something more to do to get Pages '09 to open the file up and save it within Pages '09? I understand Pages '09 works with MS Word files (as well as formatting to Word docs to send to colleagues).

Thanks!

2. robert05au macrumors regular

robert05au

I can confirm Pages 09 opens and saves word 2008 documents withe ease.

I am pretty sure it will be open each one an re-save it as a pages document and if you need to send to some using MS word simply save as a word document again.

It saves it as word 97 - 2004 format which can be open easily with word 97-2007 (windows) word 2004-2008 (mac)

I hope this helps.

3. jeffreyk thread starter macrumors regular

jeffreyk

Also when you open each document, does the system automatically prompt you to open with Pages 09 or do you have to manually have to do that? I could do this myself (of course, as to see what happens) but thought I'd ask as much as I could on certain things with my new MAC before I try something; that way I don't make a mess of things before I even start on my Mac! ;-) ...seeing that I'm a noob to the OS X environment!

Thanks for your help.

4. PeggyD macrumors 6502a