Pages and postgraduate study

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by matt.r.barnes, Aug 24, 2010.

1. matt.r.barnes macrumors newbie

Hi everyone,

I am about to start my masters this October and am unsure whether pages would be sufficient to complete my studies.

I am used to microsoft office/office for mac and have tried the trial for iwork. But would like peoples opinions in similiar situations.

Many thanks,

Matt

2. KirkL macrumors 6502

I haven't used it by Word 2011 looks pretty good (I'm a big fan of Ribbon). I've tried Pages and it's okay for light use but it didn't do very well when I imported some papers I wrote (which had tons of footnotes/endnotes and citations). Apparently Pages doesn't do both footnotes and endnotes (only one or the other).

(I'm an undergrad)

3. sjb2016 macrumors newbie

You want Mellel and Bookends

I've never used Pages, but if you're going to be doing any academic work that involves footnoting and the like, I highly-highly-highly recommend Mellel and Bookends. I had used Word all through my undergraduate work, but being a Mac man, was always looking for something better, more Mac like.

These two programs work brilliantly together. Plus not having to deal with Word trying to fix things I didn't want fixed and formatting things I didn't want formatted and corrupting files I didn't want corrupted, was worth the price. Having said that, the price for the pair is less than $100 with student discounts, but if you're serious about your academic work, it's worth it.

I had a few formatting issues with Bookends, meaning that it wasn't reading records correctly from online sources. I e-mailed the developer and he was in constant e-mail contact until the issue was resolved. The Mellel community is great as well. I know this sounds like a commercial, but I've got no interest in either company other than I really enjoyed using their software to write my dissertation.