Pages app: I can't copy thumbnails ??? HELP!

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by altaprod, Oct 26, 2008.

  1. altaprod macrumors regular

    altaprod

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2006
    Location:
    California
    #1
    Hello,

    I have 2 Pages projects and I'm trying to copy a thumbnail from one Pages project and paste it in another Pages project.

    I get the yellow border but the "copy" function isn't active.

    :confused:

    Please help me if you can.

    Ken
     
  2. PeggyD macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Location:
    Covington, WA, USA
    #2
    Use the keyboard & type Command + C or right-click & choose Copy. Then use Command + V or right-click & choose Paste (after clicking in the thumbnail pane in the target document).
     
  3. altaprod thread starter macrumors regular

    altaprod

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2006
    Location:
    California
    #3
    that didn't work

    Thanks Peggy. Actually that's what I've been trying. But the copy function is inactive for some reason. It doesn't work.
    :confused:
     
  4. altaprod thread starter macrumors regular

    altaprod

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2006
    Location:
    California
    #4
    Here's a screen shot of the inactive copy function

    Screenshot:
     

    Attached Files:

  5. altaprod thread starter macrumors regular

    altaprod

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2006
    Location:
    California
    #5
    Too difficult?

    I was afraid that my problem was so difficult that someone from MacRumors couldn't help me?
    ;)
    Just kidding. I know there are lots of people who probably can guess why I'm having this problem.

    Please help me . . . I've tried everything.
    Ken
     
  6. altaprod thread starter macrumors regular

    altaprod

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2006
    Location:
    California
    #6
    Anyone???

    I let the computer sleep over night. But I have the same problem today.

    Does anyone have an idea why the copy function isn't active?

    Ken
    :(
     
  7. PeggyD macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Location:
    Covington, WA, USA
    #7
    I have no problem copying from the thumbnails pane.

    What is "everything" you've tried? Did you delete the com.apple.iwork.pages.plist found in HD > Users > (your account) > Library > Preferences then restart Pages?

    Your impatience may make people less likely to want to make suggestions. Everyone does this on a volunteer basis & may not have the time or inclination to drop everything to figure out your problem.
     
  8. altaprod thread starter macrumors regular

    altaprod

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2006
    Location:
    California
    #8
    Sorry if I offended you Peggy

    Let me re-phrase. I've tried everything I KNOW, which admittedly isn't much when it comes to Pages. I was hopeful that I was missing something basic or that others have had a similar problem. Of course, my instinct was to simply copy and paste, but it didn't work.

    I don't expect everyone to help me, but I do appreciate you, Peggy, for trying. Please don't misconstrue my eagerness to get an answer for pushiness. I'm on a deadline to get a newsletter out by the end of the week.

    I think I understand your suggestion to delete plist. Perhaps you think that's an obvious thing to do, but clearly you are more knowledgeable about this than me. :eek:

    Do I run a risk of losing my projects by deleting this plist?

    I'm willing to try this if you think it's the solution to the inactive copy/paste problem.

    Ken
     
  9. pit29 macrumors 6502a

    pit29

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Location:
    The Golden State
    #9
    Have you tried only one document, or does this only work not in one specific document? Have you tried creating a new document from scratch, and copy a page to another newly created document?
     
  10. altaprod thread starter macrumors regular

    altaprod

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2006
    Location:
    California
    #10
    Pit29,
    Thanks. I just tried your suggestion and I have the same result.
     
  11. PeggyD macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Location:
    Covington, WA, USA
    #11
    The plist is a preference file & it is not unusual for them to become corrupt. Deleting it will force Pages to create a new, clean preference file, just like the first time you started Pages. Deleting it will not affect any documents you have created, but you might have to reset any changes to Pages preference you had made.

    Had the problem only affected one document, it would indicate the document itself is corrupt. Not necessarily an easy fix.

    One way to test is the problem is the plist is to see if the problem affects another user on your Mac. If it doesn't, the problem lies in your account & that is where this specific plist "lives."

    No offense taken.
     
  12. altaprod thread starter macrumors regular

    altaprod

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2006
    Location:
    California
    #12
    still not working, unfortunately.

    PeggyD, Pit29,

    Since your recent responses I've tried:

    1) Logging in as a different user, opening Pages, but had the same problem.
    2) I tried deleting the plist that Peggy mentioned, but had the same problem.
    3) I tried creating a new document and also get the same problem.

    Ken
     

Share This Page