Pages Formatting

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by LethalUK, May 3, 2010.

  1. LethalUK macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    #1
    Hello,

    I'm trying to create a contents page on Pages, something like this:

    Page Title....................1
    Page Title 2.................2

    Is there any way to keep the numbers in line?

    Thanks! :confused:
     
  2. Dave Braine macrumors 68040

    Dave Braine

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Location:
    Warrington, UK
    #2
    Using a Table Of Contents(TOC), although I've never used one, or Tabs?
     
  3. LethalUK thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    #3
    Thanks. I did think about TOC but that only works if you have everything in a document. Also, the tabs don't let things line up properly. :S

    :)
     
  4. Mal macrumors 603

    Mal

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Orlando
    #4
    Yes, they do. That is in fact the purpose of tabs. If you was everything to line up, you should be using tabs.

    What you do, is set up the tabs properly first. Set a left align tab for the page titles (if you don't want them right at the left margin, if you do you can skip that step. Set a right align tab for the page numbers. Then set the Leader to ……. I've attached images of the setup I used for a quick demo here.

    jW
     

    Attached Files:

  5. LethalUK thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    #5
    Thanks for that! However, whenever I press tab, the .... don't show? :S
     
  6. snberk103 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Location:
    An Island in the Salish Sea
    #6
    Can't help specifically, but on the Apple.com site go to the Support area, and then go to the Communities area. There is a section just for iWork. Search for your answer there... they are very good. If the search doesn't work then go ahead and ask away.
     
  7. Dave Braine macrumors 68040

    Dave Braine

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Location:
    Warrington, UK
    #7
    You need to have the ruler showing to see the tabs. Chose it from the View button at the lefthand side of the page. Then either enter the tabs in the Inspector as above, or just click on the ruler to add them, and click and drag them off to get rid of them.
     
  8. mysterytramp macrumors 65816

    mysterytramp

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Location:
    Maryland
    #8
    In Mal's screen shot, see the button that says "Leader"? The ... is a leader. Pick one.

    mt
     

Share This Page