Pages Frustration

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by johan1391, May 24, 2010.

  1. johan1391 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    #1
    So,
    I'm writing a chemistry lab and subsequently have to use subscripts and superscripts heavily. I'm new to pages and just started my lab, however, I put sub/super-script into my toolbar for easy access and what not. I click this to for a chemical equation and it WON'T get out of subscript. Yes, I know you can use Format>Font>Base>Use Default but if that is the only way to get out of subscript then I won't be able to use pages. It will take far too long for that, in Word you just click the subscript a second time and the text comes out of subscript, but in pages it just stays. WHAT CAN I DO!?
     
  2. MisterMe macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #2
    Learn to use your new software or revert to your old software. To superscript your text in Pages:
    1. Type text.
    2. Select text to be superscripted.
    3. Press [ctrl]+[shift]+[ + ] or select the Format/Font>Baseline>Superscript menu item.
     
  3. johan1391 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    #3
    No, you don't understand it STAYS superscripted until i revert it back to default. It should not be this difficult, there should be a way so that it goes back to normal.
     
  4. arkitect macrumors 601

    arkitect

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Location:
    Bath, United Kingdom
    #4
    Just out of curiosity, and since it is a lazy afternoon, I tried to replicate your problem:

    If I don't click the superscript icon again it continues as superscript.
    So, as you do in Word, just click the superscript icon again. It reverts to "normal".
    Unless I also don't understand your problem… seems to work fine.
     
  5. johan1391 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    #5
    Yes, that is exactly what I am doing, however, it will not revert back to normal for me. I continue to press the super/sub-script button but it stays in whichever (sub/super) that I put it in. It is so frustrating, I had to write my whole lab using the superscript and then going to format>font>Baseline>Default which is a pain in the ass. Should I re-install pages or is there a way to get everything back to it's standard state?
     
  6. MisterMe macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #6
    From everything that you described, Pages is working fine. Reinstalling can't fix what isn't broken.
     
  7. ..-. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Location:
    Ewing, NJ
    #7
    johan1391, yeah, I tried it too and it works fine. I moved the buttons to the toolbar. I typed some text, clicked superscript and typed some superscripted text. I clicked the superscript button a 2nd time and typed text in default mode. Same thing with subscript. :confused:

    Are you using version 09?

    Frank
     

Share This Page