Pages - Importing Tables

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Flow16z, Aug 11, 2010.

  1. Flow16z macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    #1
    Hi when I try to import a table from a website into the latest version of Pages, the table format isn't kept but instead it is spaced out over 4 or 5 pages. How can I make Pages keep the table format and not switch it to pure text?
     
  2. Flow16z thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
  3. PeggyD macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Location:
    Covington, WA, USA
    #3
    That usually happens because what looks like a table on a web page really isn't. Pages '09 is better than previous versions but still can be a problem. So, a couple of suggestions:
    1. Make sure when you paste into Pages you're NOT using Paste & Match Style.
    2. Create a basic table in Pages & then select the first cell then paste. Make sure just the cell is outlined & the cursor is NOT blinking in the cell.
    3. Paste the data into a Numbers table then copy & paste into Pages. Numbers is much better at receiving data like this from the web.
     
  4. Flow16z thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    #4
    That seems like an awful lot of processes to do what Ms Word on PC's can do so easily?
     
  5. PeggyD macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Location:
    Covington, WA, USA
    #5
    Word for Mac as well as one of the Office clones (NeoOffice, Open Office) may do it as "easily" as you can on a PC, but your question was about Pages which is why I made the suggestions I did. I find the problem isn't so much Pages as whoever coded the web site. Still, Numbers does a better job. If you have Pages '08 or '09 you have Numbers.
     

Share This Page