Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

semicolon

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 14, 2012
Maryland
I'm about to get my very first Mac (yay!) and I see I have the option of purchasing Pages/Keynote/Numbers for $19.99 each. How do these compare to the Microsoft equivalents? I'm a college student and will definitely be using Keynote and Pages plenty (may not need Numbers but may get it just in case) so I want to make sure I have the best program.

So should I go for it? Or should I choose iWork or a different app?

ckmoose

macrumors newbie
Feb 27, 2012
Pages, numbers, keynote are from the iWork suite. I have the iWork suite and Microsoft Office for Mac. Can't really say for the basic stuff I do I like one or the other more.

I do have pages, numbers and keynote on my iPad, so linking via iCloud my documents I really like. Not an option really with Office and iPad.

Plus with iCloud, you can access from any computer with Internet... As long as it has pages, numbers or keynote on it...

spacepower7

macrumors 68000
May 6, 2004
I'm about to get my very first Mac (yay!) and I see I have the option of purchasing Pages/Keynote/Numbers for $19.99 each. How do these compare to the Microsoft equivalents? I'm a college student and will definitely be using Keynote and Pages plenty (may not need Numbers but may get it just in case) so I want to make sure I have the best program.

So should I go for it? Or should I choose iWork or a different app?

First off, you're going to be a college student in the US I assume from your location. depending on your college, you may get a great discount on MS Office

IIRC, MS Office for a Mac was <$12 for 2008 and <$14 for 2011. It depends on your colleges size and purchasing power, and other random thing.

What are you studying and how much do you have to share files with other people?