Paging MultiMedia and others currently waiting...

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by ludavico, Jul 3, 2007.

1. ludavico macrumors newbie

ludavico

I too am on the fence regarding the mac pro. I need as much horsepower as I can get, and have been eyeing the eight-headed MP since it was introduced. (I am a chemical engineer working the area of rigorous dynamic simulation).

I have been reading with great interest the threads on buying now versus waiting, and would like to ask one simple question:

In the best case scenario, how much different do you think the next iteration of the Mac Pro will be compared to the current Dual Quad 3.0 GHz version?

In particular I am interested in your opinion on speed and bang/buck.

As a reference point, I would rate the new version of the MacBook Pro to be a relatively minor upgrade.

I understand anything at this point is speculation...

BTW, hi-end graphics are not a primary concern for my work, but I really want to start fooling around with DV editing ( a la some of the the Apple Pro tools).

Thanks.

2. ludavico thread starter macrumors newbie

ludavico

Waiting Game...

Looks like now I am flipping back to the MBP (my HP laptop is dying...again, and it is no longer under warranty).

So which one gets the update first, MP or MBP?

tick...tock...

3. SolidShadow macrumors member

The only reason that I'm waiting till next week is on the off chance that the pro goes 8 core across the board which it probably won't.

Regardless of current performance boosts, I figure more cores for the same price = more value for my dollar in the long run since programs will probably become more multi-threaded to take advantage of it in the future.

I'm thinking beyond today because I don't purchase often and I figure, better safe than sorry. Plus what the hell I'm only waiting 1 month and I don't need Ritalin to keep my focus.