• Did you order new AirTags? We've opened a dedicated AirTags forum.

watercool

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 14, 2013
England
Hi all,
I have a Macbook Pro, bought new around 2 years ago. Just lately it has gotten very very slow. In every aspect, ie using software (mainly photoshop) and when using the internet.

I checked my disk space and I have just under HALF of my disk space left.
I've done some searches but I'm not very technical and need some help!

Any ideas on what I can do?

raptor402

macrumors 6502
Jun 30, 2011
Hi all,
I have a Macbook Pro, bought new around 2 years ago. Just lately it has gotten very very slow. In every aspect, ie using software (mainly photoshop) and when using the internet.

I checked my disk space and I have just under HALF of my disk space left.
I've done some searches but I'm not very technical and need some help!

Any ideas on what I can do?

How much RAM do you have (Apple > About This Mac)? Are you willing to shell out for an SSD?

Comment

cheesyappleuser

macrumors 6502a
Apr 5, 2011
Portugal
A good thing to do was run some benchmarks on your computer, but since you say your Mac is slow I'd start off with some HDD benchmarks.

Comment

watercool

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 14, 2013
England
Its OS X 10.6.8

4 GB 1067 MHz DDR3

I wondered if there was a way to see a list of biggest files on the computer?

Also, I changed my Photoshop preferences to be able to 'Undo' for a lot more times, it said it takes up more memory but does anyone know how?

Comment

jont-fu

macrumors regular
Mar 13, 2008
Consider installing OS X Mavericks. It is free and it did wonders to my 2009 Mac Mini. It has better memory management.

Installing a SSD drive would speed up your computer a lot, too, but they are still a bit expensive.

Comment

johnnnw

macrumors 65816
Feb 7, 2013
Probably running out of RAM and causing page outs.

Check the Activity Monitor and see what your free ram is when it gets really slow.

Comment

watercool