Painfully slow

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by watercool, Nov 14, 2013.

1. watercool macrumors newbie

watercool

Hi all,
    I have a Macbook Pro, bought new around 2 years ago. Just lately it has gotten very very slow. In every aspect, ie using software (mainly photoshop) and when using the internet.

I checked my disk space and I have just under HALF of my disk space left.
    I've done some searches but I'm not very technical and need some help!

Any ideas on what I can do?

2. raptor402 macrumors 6502

How much RAM do you have (Apple > About This Mac)? Are you willing to shell out for an SSD?

3. cheesyappleuser macrumors 6502a

cheesyappleuser

A good thing to do was run some benchmarks on your computer, but since you say your Mac is slow I'd start off with some HDD benchmarks.

4. watercool thread starter macrumors newbie

watercool

Its OS X 10.6.8

4 GB 1067 MHz DDR3

I wondered if there was a way to see a list of biggest files on the computer?

Also, I changed my Photoshop preferences to be able to 'Undo' for a lot more times, it said it takes up more memory but does anyone know how?

5. blueroom macrumors 603

blueroom

For Photoshop more RAM is desirable, and yes undos levels can take up loads of RAM.

6. watercool thread starter macrumors newbie

watercool

I've just put it back down to 6. Does the Mac store old undo's?!

7. jont-fu macrumors regular

Consider installing OS X Mavericks. It is free and it did wonders to my 2009 Mac Mini. It has better memory management.

Installing a SSD drive would speed up your computer a lot, too, but they are still a bit expensive.

8. johnnnw macrumors 65816

johnnnw

Probably running out of RAM and causing page outs.

Check the Activity Monitor and see what your free ram is when it gets really slow.

9. watercool thread starter macrumors newbie

watercool

Its getting worse, it's taken me about 20 mins to get on to this page because everything is taking so long.